Vitalik's death was a very costly hoax

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

I woke up to ETH falling and I just figured people had realized it's overpriced, it turns out rumors were being spread about its founder having died.

The above is a picture of Vitalik Buterin holding a hand-written sign showing the latest transaction in the Ethereum blockchain as proof of life, which has brought the subject of celebrity culture back to my thoughts.

I can't say I'm against having faces represent projects for the sake of marketing because you all know I like Dash and if something were to happen to Amanda the price would probably suffer too, but at the same time I think it can be dangerous to have people become symbols for blockchains as they can be targeted personally and this can easily turn into violence. We shouldn't forget that we are dealing not only with multi-billion dollar companies but actually challenging monopolies that are hundreds of years old.

It doesn't even have to be about competition from different projects, if someone wanted to buy ETH to then resell at a higher price then why not create these rumors? Why can't Vitalik himself spread the rumors?

Sort:  

Damn! He is alive but in this photo he looks even worse than usual. If I wouldn't know this guy I would think that he is a junkie or very sick.

But you are completely right. People are murdering other people for far less money than whats in stake here...

Use block chain to prove he is still alive 😄

Hi can you please upvote my last post
please please :)

Good news!!!

most often the rumors to raise prices

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53