Proper handling of Ehtereum based cryptos post-purchasesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

I'm writing this, as I - as a crypto-newcomer - am somewhat confused with how ethereum depositing works and so, how it's done completely safely.

  1. On an exchange, I see many deposit addresses for different cryptos being exactly the same. I assume the reason being they're all Ethereum based. The cryptos are: Ethereum, Ethereum Classic, OmiseGo and SALT. This is perfectly normal? I thought at least Ethereum and Ethereum classic would be two different chains after the forking.

  2. On etherscan.io, I just looked up the public Ethereum address the exchange gave me and still cannot see the Populous I just bought a couple of days ago, which the exchange put on the same address as my Ethereum. Should I be worried? The Populous are listed just fine on the exchange, so I don't understand.

  3. If I decide to use Myetherwallet.io to store the above mentioned cryptos and perhaps others based on ethereum as well, is it safe to dump all of them on the same public deposit address as the Exchange apparently does it, or should I make separate wallets/addresses for each crypto?

Please only answer if you are 100% sure of what you're saying - and thx for answering :-) I'm sure other crypto newcomers have the same doubts too, so any useful answers will probably be greatly valued by more than just me ;-)

I come from an old school spot FOREX background and decided to ditch that game due to the insane rigging rendering my classic technical analysis methodology almost completely useless. With the much more organically, naturally moving market of the cryptos, I feel can get back in the game with my methodology that used to work just fine before central banks ran totally amok on the "free market" and will do technical analysis of different cryptos up here on Steemit with many of the positions being ones I've actually taken or will take.

Thx!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58224.09
ETH 2508.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34