Goodbye ethereum

in #ethereum4 years ago

2020 wasn’t the best start for the decade with the COVID-19 pandemic spreading across the globe.

2021 surprised us with an unexpected cryptocurrency bull run and my algorithmic trading cashed in on ether a few days ago. You see, after crashing in the last tsunami at the beginning of 2018, I stepped up my game this time and made sure to set up a limit sell order in advance, just in case it dropped again.

On Monday morning I had my breakfast quickly and got ready for research. As we are still working from home, I checked my crypto balance first and instead of ether, I was holding cash. Well, it was my pleasure to ride a second wave with ethereum. After that, I decided to diversify my portfolio into stocks, rather than taking the naive approach of going all in again.

ether.png

I still consider it the “Google” company of my generation because of its tremendous potential. But that volatility was painfully killing me, despite being a long term holder. The rapid price appreciation is also detrimental to the scaling up of the blockchain technologies, built on top of it due to the higher gas fees. I have no doubt, that it is going to double in value again in the next years, once it solves the remaining technical limitations.

Lastly, I would like to present what I exchanged my holding position for:

investment portfolio.png

In the end, ether might outperform this portfolio but it does feel safer to be more conservative sometimes and focus on future trends that are going to disrupt the world, like the green transition, big tech and 5G networks.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67435.35
ETH 3528.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68