I Need Tech Help, and I'm Willing to Pay!

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

EDIT:>. Problem solved, I think. Since EIP 155, its no longer necessary to use splitter contracts, apparently. Just load the wallet file into two different wallet apps (one for ETH and one for ETC) and then send the money to a new account/address that you control using each wallet app. Or...at least that's what I did and it seems to work so far.

So, here's the story:

I bought some Ethereum in the crowd sale, though I never claimed it (that is, moved it into my Mist wallet) till very recently. I have only made one transaction since I did so, as noted below.

Knowing of the hard fork, I realized that I have equal amounts of both Ethereum (ETH) and Ethereum Classic (ETC). However, I needed to split them in order to use them separately. To do that, I followed exactly the instructions provided by @pauls here (using 1 ether to test it out): https://steemit.com/ethereum/@pauls/ethereum-fork-step-by-step-guide-to-safely-splitting-your-eth-etc. @lukestokes looked over my shoulder to ensure that I didn't do anything stupid.

I used Mist for my ETH wallet and MyEtherWallet for my ETC wallet, both on the same computer.

Unfortunately, the split didn't work. The ETH was immediately returned by the split contract to my Mist wallet but the ETC never appeared (or at least it hasn't yet after about 3 hours) in my MEW wallet. When I look up my MEW account on the block explorer, it too shows no balance at that address. This seems to be a pretty common occurrence, with several people commenting on @pauls post that they had a similar experience. Googling the issue also turns up many instances of the same issue--the ETH being returned to the designated output address but the ETC not.

When I check my original ETC account balance on an ETC block explorer, it shows the full original (pre split transaction) balance, so it appears that the ETC transaction was never relayed to the ETC network by the split contract. By contrast, my ETH balance on the block explorer now shows my original pre-transaction balance less a little gas for the contract execution transaction. So, my ETC and ETH balances now slightly differ whereas before they were identical.

None of the usual explanations for this failure of the ETC to arrive at its destination seem to apply. I didn't sent anything near my whole account balance to the split contract, so there was plenty left in my ETH and ETC wallets to cover the needed gas cost. Likewise, my ETH and ETC balances were identical before I sent the split transaction (I know this logically but also confirmed it visually on each block explorer prior to sending the 1 ETH to the split contract).

Does anybody have any ideas what's going on here? Or how to successfully split my ETH and ETC? Again, I'm happy to pay for the help.

Gratefully,

Sean

Sort:  

Myetherwallet check your ETC balance there. You have to split the ETC off first. This link should be helpful. https://split.codetract.io/

I sold my ETC on a exchange for more ETH. Its free ETH. Or maybe you like ETC better its up to you.

Hi, I'm really sorry to hear your story, actually, there were some errors when hard-fork in eth happened, Someone got more ETH than they got promised. This is caused by exchange market usually. Therefore I guess u have to claimed to Mist or MyEtherwallet.

There's a simple split contract address to use. Let try and find that.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64303.16
ETH 3137.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97