Can You Help Me With An Ethereum (ETH versus ETC) Question?

in #ethereum8 years ago

I purchased Etherum in the original crowdsale and haven't done anything with it yet.  I still have the original JSON file, password, etc. provided during the crowdsale.  


I'm thinking of moving my ether to a wallet sooner or later.  


Anyway, my question is this:  Do I essentially have both ETH and ETC at this point?  If so, do I need to do anything in particular when I move the coins to keep them both? Anything I should be certain to AVOID doing?


Thanks for the guidance.  I'll upvote good answers.  

Sort:  

Wow...you haven't even put it in a wallet since the crowdsale? I'm actually curious about how you would go about activating it. If you just sent it to a Coinbase wallet then it would most likely just be ETH kind of like what I have going on with Kraken where it seems to just be ETH. Not sure exactly though.

So if I had a small part of ETH on Kraken or other exchanges I didn't get any ETHC right?

I believe that you should have both. You need to make sure that when you move the coins that you are moving them on the right fork, or else you will lose the coins. Im not sure what solutions there are to make sure you dont fuck up at the moment but check out the forum im sure 1000 people are asking the same questions.

So if I had ETH on my desktop wallet where is the ETHC?

You probably have to download an alternative client where it continues on the old pre forked blockchain. There is an ethereum classic subreddit now on reddit. Here is a thread for beginners. This should help you out. https://www.reddit.com/r/EthereumClassic/comments/4ts1w4/hard_fork_went_smoothly_ethereum_classic_chain_is/

Sounds about right, but I can't believe you stay with both.

The ETH crowdsale is from the start of the chain,right? Both chains countains your eth... if you could "activate" it on ETC, that is the question. Best of luck.

YES..avoid sending any ETC (if you have it) to GDAX/ Coinbase.
It is not being credited there at this time..things appear pretty wacky the last few days as the dust settles and exchanges decide to list ETC trading pairs...Kraken announced a few hours ago they are now listing ETC

https://www.reddit.com/r/Bitcoin/comments/4ut2iz/coinbase_just_announced_that_they_are_pocketing/

Hi Sean I think 1st you have to down load and open your client. Then I would check at poloniex but the way I understand I'd when you transfer your pre fork ether to the exchange you get an equal amount of etc . I would definitely research a little more but that's how I understood at the update post on polo

This whole ETH/ETC thing seems pretty crazy to me. Both sides have interesting arguments, but what's more interesting to me is that there is market support for both. Makes me think the whole crypto world is just a little... out there.

If you have both eth and etc. As the eth was created in the genesis block and etc has the same genesis block. You can open the json file in note pad and it will show which eth address it is sitting on if you want. That address will be the same on both chains right now.

You can then check how much etc you have here:
http://gastracker.io/addr/0xyouretcaddress

Now as for moving one without the other that is a little bit more tricky. You can use the splitter contract at address 0xaa1a6e3e6ef20068f7f8d8c835d2d22fd5116444 to split them(Vitalik talks about it here https://blog.ethereum.org/2016/07/26/onward_from_the_hard_fork/).

But if you are trying to keep the genesis eth wallet untouched that won't work. What you can do is transfer one etc into the address that you know won't be on the regular eth blockchain and then transfer the whole amount of etc over to a different address.

You can do the same with eth just move a after fork eth over and then move all the eth.

Maybe You could ask Poloniex :-)
Seriously, they double (ETH + ETC) the deposits of the traders, surely they should know a pair of things about your question.

If you had ether before the fork then you have both.

So if I had ETH on my desktop wallet where is the ETHC?

You have to start another wallet that is configured to use the ETC block chain, you can use another computer or create another user account and run the wallet under than user account. When you run the official wallet from Ethereum it will ask you if you want to use/support the Fork. I have not tried this myself, I converted to BTC before the fork...I was confident things would go smoothly...and thus I missed out on the free ETC...no risk no reward I guess.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60881.23
ETH 2600.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56