Why Ethereum Scares Me...

in #ethereum7 years ago

First of all, let me make it clear... I HOLD ETHEREUM!

Recently things have been great, but, things never remain great for forever...

Can Ethereum really just continue to gain dominance and usurp established norms of business practice and established institutions without any backlash or crackdown from government bodies? With all the new ICO's piggy backing on this blockchain, Ethereum has effectively become the a trading platform or value discovery vehicle... a role previously dominated by stock exchanges and big banks and financial institutions. Although the crypto market cap is approaching $100 Billion, it is relatively small compared to the conventional stock and bond markets... However, if things continue to scale at this torrid pace, it is only a matter of time where legacy institutions start seeing the competition and demand a leveling of the playing field.

Ethereum is different from Bitcoin... although decentralized there is no central authority in Bitcoin that governments could attack. With Ethereum, however, there is Vitalik, and, certainly his life can be made difficult to gain compliance.

If any such rumblings begin to come about, watch out! Things could get bumpy...

I'm long Ethereum. As mentioned, I hold it in my portfolio. I am not an active trader and hope to keep for many years. However, I know that once anything becomes too powerful and challenges the status quo, there are always attempts by the central authorities to establish limits and boundaries. I have my eyes and ears open to that. Please let me know if I'm worrying about nothing...

Thanks

eth.JPG

Sort:  

I haven't gotten into Ethereum, yet - but it's at the top of my list for cryptos. With companies like Toyota and Samsung also invested in it, there's no one, single country that can completely wreck it without there being some major pushback from global companies. These are big-time players. I think it's as safe or safer to invest in as BitCoin. Could it go bad? Sure. But, that can happen to anything. As long as you have a good amount of physical gold and/or silver, your risks are reduced, greatly.

Absolutely... diversification is paramount... but keeping in mind that if the platform itself cannot be easily targeted the large corporate users certainly can... Government will always try and get its share... cheers

Scares me too. Central authorities can do things we can't even imagine to further manipulate markets. With Bitcoin, at least it's purported that nobody knows who came up with it, whereas you're right, Vitalik is a very real person. Things could get ugly for him. I worry.

do you have price target for ETHUSD?

I think we will see $12000 USD Bitcoin in early 2018. I expect that Ethereum will maintain or surpass its current 10% ratio to Bitcoin. Therefore, I expect Ethereum to approach $1000 USD by early 2018.

Where do you see it going?

You need to look at marketcap, not price. Ethereum has already passed a 50% marketcap of bitcoin, it isn't far behind at all.

Being scared of an investment may suggest you have invested more than you are willing to lose, just invest what you are willing to lose and enjoy the trade. Worst scenario we hit zero, no limit on the upside.

Thanks for that... I certainly agree with that philosophy when it comes to any type of speculation. Fortunately, my downside on this trade is limited, I'm more questioning the strength of ongoing upside. thanks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66565.59
ETH 3503.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72