Claymore Ethereum Miner Triggering False Postive from Windows Defender + Quick Fix

in #ethereum7 years ago

quarantine.png

This morning I was alarmed to find that all of my mining PC's were not mining. We had a thunderstorm roll through the night before which made me think we had just lost power over the night. When I logged into my main PC I found that Windows Defender had caught a "virus". It had detected a "trojan virus" called Ditertag.b. I started to freak out a bit when I found that Windows Defender had caught this virus on all of my PC's. This made me assume I was about to have to reinstall Windows on all of my PC's.

I started searching online to find out what was going on. Apparently Windows Defender must have added Claymore's Ethereum miner to their definitions. To fix this issue, I'll provide a step-by-step guide to get your PC's back mining again.

Step 1

real-prot.png

Open up Windows Defender and click on Virus & Threat Protection Settings. Turn real-time protection OFF. I also disabled Cloud-delivered protection and Automatic Sample Submission, but not sure if this is necessary.

Step 2

download.png

Download Claymore Miner from the official Github page found here -> https://github.com/nanopool/Claymore-Dual-Miner/releases

Step 3

copy.png

Copy the EthDcrMiner64.exe file from the newly downloaded folder into your pre-existing folder you keep your Claymore Miner in. Windows Defender deleted your old .exe file.

Step 4

mining.png

Double-click your start.bat file and you should be up and mining again.

That should be it to get you up and mining again. If you wish to re-enable Windows Defender, you can add an exeption to the folder that houses your Claymore miner. I have not done this yet, but it should be good to go.

Another thing to check for while you are performing maintenance is to ensure that Windows hasn't "updated" your video card drivers. The Crimson BETA mining drivers sometimes get updated automatically to the newer ones which are not optimal for mining.

Hope this quick fix can save you the headache and anxiety this "virus" threat caused me this morning.

Happy mining!

Rakkasan.jpgvet tag.png

Sort:  

Beep! Beep! This humvee will be patrolling by and assisting new veterans, retirees, and military members here on Steem. @shadow3scalpel will help by upvoting posts from a list of members maintained by @chairborne and responding to any questions replied to this comment.

Hi @rakkasan84, I didn't know you was mining to. I've not looked into it at all. Do you know if it's possible to do on a Linux PC (Ubuntu)? Plus, I don't have a dedicated video card (in-built one) which I'm guessing would be a major disadvantage?

It is possible on Linux and probably preferred. You definitely want to use a mid to high end video card or it won't be profitable. For Ethereum, I would suggest the AMD RX series (470, 480, 570, 580). The lower end 470 cards will get you around 20 MH/s and use around 100-150w of power, so you can figure your profit ratio using those here -> https://www.coinwarz.com/calculators/ethereum-mining-calculator

Cheers for advice @rakkasan84, greatly appreciated.

Just realized I was logged in @shadow3scalpel when I posted this lol, but yes that answer was from me :)

thanks for getting us up and running again so quickly

Glad to hear it wasn't an actual virus.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63550.59
ETH 2644.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81