How to resync Geth after the Ethereum Hard Fork

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

Resync Geth

Updating Homebrew

  1. Open a Terminal window

  2. Type brew update

  3. Type brew upgrade

Resync Geth

  1. Open a Terminal window

  2. Type geth removedb to remove your chaindata.

  3. Type y to confirm removing your chaindata. This can take around 10 seconds.

  4. Type geth --fast --cache=1024 to start synchronising the chain. This can take around 2 hours depending on your computer.

Sort:  

I am so over trying to sync my mist wallet. I have tried to do a total download 3. Times over the past week and it slows to a crawl once it's near the end.

Tell me about it! I've been having trouble syncing for nearly 3 weeks now! I originally used Geth before the attacks started, and after some research I started using Parity and had some success. Since then I have also been trying to sync Geth, and today I was able to do that with the above instructions. There is still another hard fork coming that will get rid of a lot of bloat from the chain, so once that happens then the above instructions should help you out also. Good luck.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79