Crypto miner? I have two gifts for you / We could be millionaires in one year, only if...

in #ethereum7 years ago

I'm quite new to crypto (well, everybody is really), but I'm loving it. I love the blockchain technology behind it, the possibilities it brings to free the economy in a globalized and fairer world, the social implications it may bring... I even love all the hype!

One thing I enjoy doing as a hobby is mining. I'm not a pro miner at all, I just started mining Zcash 6 months ago, with my Nvidia GTX 1060, I've being learning a lot about blockchain and crypto this months, and the last week with the money I got from mining I bought an nvidia GTX 1070, so I've got both cards mining now. And right now it's really profitable! But... how much? for how long?

I also love maths, calculations, charts, spreadsheets and coding (yes, I'm a geek), so I thought about doing a mining calculator, for my personal use. But I wanted it to be a mining calculator for human beings! I thought: it doesn't have to be so complicated as the other calculators I had seen in Internet (why do I have to know the network hashrate? or the network difficulty? or the algorithm that Zcash uses?). I just wanted to have a tool easy and fast to use... As we usually say in spanish, "con las tres B: Bueno, Bonito y Barato" ("With the three B: Good, Pretty and Cheap")... So I did it.

Then I experimented with mining Ethereum, and Monero, and I wanted to know which one was more profitable to mine each day, as the variables change so fast in this incredible world! So I did also an easy tool for that.

Then I saw a lot of people asking the same thing again and again: what card is better for mining? how many hashrate do you get with [my GPU card]? I wanted to know too, so... yes: I compiled all the information that I could and put it in a sortable table, including the energy efficiency of each card.

By now sure you just guessed what is my first gift, right? Yep, I bought an Internet domain and upload all these tools and information for everyone to use, for free, in a single and happy-to-use web :)

Proud Miners Tools

We could become millionaires in one year!

Did I say that I love calculations? Ok let's do the maths:

  • Mi Zcash mining rig: 730 H/s, consuming 330W (including full PC).
  • Network hashrate (and difficulty) increase in the last month: from 90M to 180M => 100% increase rate / month.
  • Zcash increase in value the last month: from 95€ to 360€ => 378% increase rate / month.

With these values and the calculator (with advanced options and future forecast), this is the income evolution:

Calculator

See? Just one year to reach one million! Ok, Ok, I know, it's impossible to keep this pumping in Zcash value, and miners are buying all the GPUs they can find so network difficulty is growing even faster... But... come on! let's dream! :)

A more realistic calculation would be to do it with the latest 4 months, although no one really knows what will happen even next week, but... let's do it just for fun anyway! ;)

  • Mi Zcash mining rig: 730 H/s, consuming 330W.
  • Network hashrate increase: from 50M to 180M => 38% increase / month.
  • Zcash price increase: 30€ to 360€ => 86% increase / month.

Calculator

Ok, 2 years this time to reach one million. More than expected, but I think I can wait. Again... let's dream!

Plan B

Ok, but just in case this plan fails... I have another idea to become a millionaire. If you're old enough (I won't confess my age!) you would remember... "The Million Dollar Homepage"! Yes! I always loved that idea. You can see it here:

The Million Dollar Homepage

That guy sold each pixel of a 1000x1000 pixels image in his personal homepage for 1$ each, so he made 1 million dollars! The crazy old days of Internet! :'D Well, I just updated that idea to the XXI century, you know, because I also want to be rich, but hey! only for crypto lovers, so it's really special. Instead of one pixel, each brick is 20x20, and instead a 1000x1000 picture this is a FullHD image, of course. So, if you want to join in it would be great!

The less-than-a-million Crypto Miners Wall of Fame

Ok, now you are reading this, thinking, "eh! this is going to end here, and where is my other gift?" ok, ok, the second gift is the thing I give most value to, a thing that cannot be returned, a thing that I appreciate very much, and it's very limited... it's... my time!!!! I mean, if you want to improve or add something to the calculator, just tell me, and I'll do my best to do it so it would be better for everyone O:)

I'm a Proud Miner

Sort:  

hey @moodleman Glad you came along - we need more steemians like you - thanks for your post - followed, upvoted, resteemed - follow me back

Thanks! You have very interesting content I see, I'm following too :)

Congratulations @moodleman! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @moodleman! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi your article is very good.
i want to translate it and share your idea with people around me.
am from China, Beijing.
hope can get your early response discuss about this.
Thank you so much for your sharing.

Congratulations @moodleman! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64623.67
ETH 3421.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51