Builidng Ethereum/Sia miners in the Datacenter

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

Welcome back friends! Today is special; I commissioned an Ethereum and Sia miner today dubbed 'AlphaMiner'. The first of many.

6GPUMiner.jpg

Here are the current specs, maybe you guys can help me dial this in, I'm relatively new to the mining scene:

Custom open air aluminum frame
Biostar TB85 Motherboard
(6) unmodified MSI 8GB Radeon RX 580 GPU
(6) powered riser card
Celeron G1840 Processor
Corsair 1000w 1000x modular power supply
60GB SSD
4GB RAM
Win 10 Pro

I'm powering it on now by shorting the power pins on the motherboard but I plan to incorporate a more elegant solution for the switch, although it is kinda fun to power it on by jumping the exposed pins.. It's got the current Claymore miner configured to Nanopool's setup on an otherwise pretty base install of Win 10. I disabled Windows updates via gpupdate, turned the Windows power settings to 'Always on' and configured the Virtual memory to '3000-12000'. I installed all 6 GPUs on the frame but one of the cards' accent lights surrounding the fan didn't light up(as you can see in the picture provided, the third card down from the top), another one wasn't being recognized by Windows at all and the last was hashing at 4 Mh/s when the others did around 22 stock.

I spent about 3 hours on it tonight to get it to this point and plan on updating you all tomorrow and ongoing so that I can share my experiences and gain insights and guidance from my Steemit friends. Thanks for following along, please share and upvote this post if you enjoyed reading it!

Sort:  

gv3.jpg

New Followers get an upvote for free!!

Just follow us - we follow you back and your newest posting will receive an upvote for free! - @getvotes

Sia has tanked so much in the last few weeks. Good long term hold nonetheless. Just hold and in the future it will hopefully pay its dividends.

Sia is so exciting! I think it's a bit of a risk but the decentralized storage option can take off, and I believe it will, since it's one of the most enterprise to home-user ready coins available today. Everyone needs storage.

Agreed especially with the growth in IoT and data.

#siacoin

Hey man, I am interested of one of those beauties! Hom much does it cost?

The total build cost for this rig was around $2500. Much of the equipment was gifted. I'm hopeful that I can build more in the same price range by building my own frames and getting cards wholesale.

Can you tell me how much ETH generates every day, please?

Sure! This is day one and it's pointing all generated funds at the new AlphaMiner wallet so I'll get an accurate daily reading for you tomorrow, but it will be gimped until I can get all 6 cards operational and fully up to speed. I've seen reports of this card hashing at 28 Mh/s with custom modified BIOS and the right overclock settings, basically meaning it's going ~60%

Hardly wait to see the result! Thanks a lot!

The miner ran into issues today so I decided to rebuild the OS.. The whole thing is currently offline until I can revisit it in the morning. The good news is that for a 12 hour slice, at the rate I was hashing and the current rate of exchange, I was generating about $12 worth a day in Sia and Ethereum. I'll post another follow-up once it's all spun up.

I think you made a very good investment. In maximum 2 months you should recover your investment. Thanks for updating and waiting for news about evolution.

Thanks @itsshowtime007 ! :) Check 'em out, I'll keep building them. This is going to be a large scale project and I appreciate the support.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79