Miner's Log - Day 2

in #ethereum7 years ago

Miner's Log - Day 2

The first 24 hours end well, but not without some problems. Today we'll be going over the things I missed when I was configuring my rig, and my considerations on purchasing more hardware.

First 24 Hours

It's safe to say I've got the bug already. I'm obsessing over power usage, clock frequencies, ROI times, the whole nine yards. In the past 24 hours I've learned more about hashing and its associated hardware than I had even heard of two days ago.

Like I said, my research wasn't exactly in-depth.

I've even managed to make a little ETH! Something on the order of 0.009 at time of writing, which when converted to USD at the current rate of $300 USD/ 1.00 ETH (please bounce back soon), comes out to an astounding $2.70. Half of my parking fee was free today. BUT, let it be known that I went and messed up in my initial configurations not in the hashing itself, but in my actual desktop settings. 

In a previous life (about 4 days ago), I was much more environmentally concerned, and had settings on my desktop to enter sleep mode after 5 hours of inactivity. Now I'm still concerned with the environment, I'm just willing to completely overlook the power-sucking-machine that is my mining/gaming rig. I'll make up for by shortening my showers or something.

After fixing my settings to never enter sleep mode (but still deactivate monitors after an hour), I should see that daily earning of ~0.009 ETH double! And what will I do with my 1 ETH earned every ~56 days you ask? Well, I'm not sure yet. If the past is anything to consider, I'll HODL (sic) strong with the best of them. The only thing I'm really considering parting with my dearly beloved ETH for is to buy more hashing hardware.

This is all to say that, currently, I'm strongly considering diving further into this. I've found a local selling their old R9 480 for a pretty good price, and I'm sure I can scrape together the rest of a PC for next to nothing. The only thing left to consider really is how much I want to spend now in order to potentially make more later.

Expanding The Operation?

As I mentioned in my previous post, the GPU I'm currently mining on was essentially free for the purposes of mining. I bought it as a dedicated card for gaming, and only ever considered it for mining when I started working more and gaming less. I recognize that this is skewing my perception of mining profitability, and I'm doing my best to compensate for that. After browsing Craigslist over lunch, I've found a few cheap, high performance AMD cards in the surrounding area. My current rig is Nvidia, which means I'm going to need to build a whole separate computer for mining if I dive into this full on. That said, I've built about a half-dozen PCs by now, some AMD and some Nvidia, and I'm pretty comfortable with taking a stab at the cheapest build I can still get to hash. 

If all else fails, the nice folks over at /r/buildmeapc  or /r/ethermining would happily assist.

In The Mean Time

I'll continue mining on my (now 100% less lazy) repurposed rig, and accumulating that sweet sweet ETH!


Previous Post Here


If you enjoyed this content or found it helpful, please consider liking, commenting below, or even donating to
0x2394457bf0E3b2406a753247430b3Cf31d37aFA9
Follow for more pieces on my mining experience, or comment to have questions answered!
Sort:  

You should be able to use both Nvidia and AMD cards in one rig for mining if you have the PCI slots and power available. You will still want to use Claymore's software though.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 53699.14
ETH 2213.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28