You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Mining rig update... will be mining ethereum. not finished.

in #ethereum7 years ago

Mobo didn't matter - just needed to be able to put 6 GPUs and went with cheapest CPU because the only thing that matters when mining ethereum is graphics processing. Unlike bitcoin, which uses CPU processing. Hope that answers your question.

Sort:  

Yeah, that was my understanding, and why I asked about Intel vs AMD. AMD is usually a lower cost option for similar quality materials as Intel, which would potentially lower your rig's cost if there was a viable AMD option for the 6 GPUs :)

Thanks for that. I will check it out for my next one. I want to make more. All my certifications are in Microsoft and mainly only ever used Intel, but really no difference in respect to hardware I use (rather use cheaper). Nice to get the cost down though - almost 5 grand CDN. 1 GPU was 610 plus taxes.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57249.71
ETH 3092.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41