Ethereum mining - too late to start now

in #ethereum7 years ago

I started to mine Ethereum two months ago. Since then the difficulty of mining went through the roof.

If you are thinking about mining Ethereum right now, dont even bother. Even if you manage to get some graphic cards, because they are sold out, it is not worth it.

Two months ago, i bought some GPUs and started to mine Ethereum. the calculator if my mining pool said 4.5 ETH per month. With price over 300$ per ETH and rising, I was thinking hey, my investment to the HW will be back in only two months and than I will make a lot of money! YAY!

Well, after only two months, calculator now says 1.1 ETH per month. Mining difficulty went from 450 to 2200 and keeps getting higher. I managed to mine 5.6 ETH so far, but it is getting less and less lucrative and if you start now, you probably wont be able to earn enough to pay for those GPUs.

Don't get me wrong, even after the electricity fee it still earns some money now, but if the price wont double or something, I advice not to start mining now. 

If you believe in ETH as I do, better to buy some now and hold onto it.

Sort:  

Price will defenetely increase in future, but I agree, if you think of mining only ETH better to buy and hold... the advantage however is that you can still sell the rig for almost the same price with the FOMO around the market, so in reality you will end up with some free coins, which is not bad!

True to that, I am mining till it still gains and than selling HW or changing to some more profitable minable crypto, if there will be any.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46