You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Code is Law and Old Testament Gods

in #ethereum8 years ago

I liked this a lot. The one "pile-on" I would add or amplify is the whole "code is law" perspective -- I'm actually going to argue out of both sides of my mouth on this one. The for "code is law" perspective is the recognition that of that famous cliche that 9/10 's of law is based upon possession. "Code is Law" is basically a rework of that. If the "code" is the law then when things are perceived as having gone against the user of the "code" -- it is up to them (the agrived) to make their case -- the "code" is not going to advocate for them unless explicitly defined or "coded".

But the idea that you can circumvent laws based on a "I-coded-it-thats-the-way-it-is" paradyme seems a little over the top. I can definitely see that the legal side of the house (current law) will have to propose some mechanisms to legitametly provide relief to poorly written or bad "code" code is law apps.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57893.29
ETH 3130.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44