When Ethereum hard forks later this month, what will happen?

in #ethereum7 years ago

Will we see another alt coin form as a result of this upcoming fork? Will there be fighting among people in the Ethereum community? I did watch Bitcoin hard fork last month and I was the results. Will this be much of the same? What kind of effect will this have on other coins and their relevance to anonymity? Will prices go up as mining difficulty increases? What will happen with transaction fees? There's a ton of speculation and I'd LOVE to hear your thoughts below! Me being a noob and all, I want to soak up all that knowledge out there!

Here are some interesting posts I found on the subject - enjoy!

http://www.trustnodes.com/2017/08/26/ethereum-hardfork-reduce-issuance-september-metropolis-byzantium-upgrade

This one's ok

https://themerkle.com/ethereums-metropolis-hard-fork-will-activate-at-the-end-of-september-2017/

And much of the same

https://futurism.com/the-ethereum-platform-will-undergo-a-major-upgrade-in-september/

Sort:  

It will not be a fork like ETH and ETC, it seems there will not be new coins generated but just a change in the chain and that's it. We will see changing in mining returns but that's it.... But as usual, I wouldn't be surprised if they decide to change everything at last minute.

So, what you're saying is hard forks can happen without a coin split? I was under the impression that a hard fork resulted in a new coin. Why will there be no new coin this time?

Because it depends of the protocol the miners use to validate the transactions... Basically all miners already agrees to switch to the new protocol, meaning the old one will just not have any value anymore. From a technical point of view what you say it's 100% correct, when you change the protocol you generate a new coin, but with a PoW coin everything goes down to the miners.

Bitcoin fought for years. I don't see much fighting if at all for ETH. I really began to get better clarity when I stopped monitoring the boards on Reddit. There's too much noise and immaturity. As for potential disagreements on the fork, there's nothing really to debate.

Vitalik and team have their game plan, it's been transparent all along, and it will simply be executed. Those with decent amounts of ETH can stake and earn the interest they deserve for supporting the new upgrade.

I've noticed and completely different community with the Ethereum chain. Could you imagine where Bitcoin would be today if there were no fighting?! I did see a video today where Vitalik was saying to sell your Neo - made me laugh. Was in a room full of Neo holders no doubt. I just started following crypto like a week before August 1 and I have never been a Reddit fan lol. Thank you so much for posting! I rarely have anyone respond to anything and I'm just out here trying to learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 59965.71
ETH 3286.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36