You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ethereum Fork: Step-by-Step Guide to Safely Splitting your ETH/ETC

in #ethereum8 years ago (edited)

I followed your guide. I tried it with 7 eth first. I send my 7 eth to a new adress in my mist browser and the etc to to my etc deposit adress on Poloniex. At first i saw in the Classic blockchain explorer that the 7 etc arrived. But they haven;t shown up in my poloniex account yet.

About 30 min later I checked the same eth adress on the Classic blockchain explorer and I see this:

ITS ALMOST EMPTY! What could have happened here?

My eth arrived fine in the new adress of my mist browser.

Sort:  

Did it arrive in your Poloniex account? After they receive the ETC it will likely move to their cold storage.

You are right. the 7 i send arrived after 2 hours. I then send the rest of my eth trough the same contract. It never arrived (its been 7-8 hours or so).

I think i might have messed up. Because i had more eth than etc (because of ETH comming back from the DAO).

So lets say I had:

50eth and 40etc on the same initial adres. I filled in the contract that i wanted to send 49 eth to a new eth adres and the etc to poloniex. But I think the etc transaction could never run because i didn;t have enough tokens. Sadly i can;t figure out were they are. Should consider them lost or are they floating around somewere?

I think I have the same problem. Now, re-executing the split sending like 39eth, (the 40etc should still be there), should work, right? I tried it and nothing happens to the remaining etc funds. Maybe my contract execution on the hf chain is not replayed anymore on the no-hf chain because I submitted an invalid transaction once?

First, check you can check your ETC balance here: http://gastracker.io/addr/0x....

Then try to send the amount of ETC you have using the split function. But keep in mind you'll need some gas for the transaction to go through, so try sending slightly less than the max balance.

WOOHOO. I solved my problem by myself. I Booted a VM (Virtual machine, but you can also use a seperate computer and loaded ethereum wallet with the NO DAO FORK. Took about 2 hours to sync.

After I Loaded my keystore files into this new wallet and PRESTO! my missing etc appeared. I'm over the moon! I send some to shapeshift and it worked!

I checked the balance and executed a split with an amount of 5 ETC less than available. Still nothing. Other ideas?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62094.36
ETH 2436.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50