Golem just fired me. Here's why:

in #ethereum7 years ago

You can see the original post with pics & links at: http://www.eddyazar.com/i-got-fired-from-my-dream-job-golem-heres-why/


TL;DR: I believe in transparent and open communication as a startup. Julian & the Golem team are more into moderation and controlling the message. I still hold a large portion of my net worth in GNT, I still think GNT is going to be a world-changing company, and I wish the team the best of luck. But know, if you are a Golem user, that you will have to look elsewhere than in the Golem-controlled channels to learn everything that is happening.


A few days ago the worth of 1 GNT (Golem Network Token) roughly doubled. Which peaked it at an aprox 460% increase since the ICO in November (yes, it was an ICO. They have to call it a crowdfunding event for legal purposes but when you sell coins for the first time, that the definition of an Initial Coin Offering).

At the time, that made GNT about 29% of my total net worth.

I was quite excited.

So, with my personal Facebook and my personal reddit accounts, I shared the good news. (they’ve already managed to get the mods to delete a few of these. Wow.)

GNT on Polo.png

....Yesterday, our CEO Julian fired me for doing so.

Eddy's FIRED.png

Now he’s not wrong for firing me. They’d told me they don’t like this kinda stuff before (they want to have a permanent no-comment stance on price fluctuations to avoid coming off as a scam or shitcoin), and I had persisted despite that. Like I said in the TL;DR, I have a deep philosophical stance on truth and transparency. Which is why I am publicly stating that I am not with Golem any longer. And why I’m not complying with Julian’s demand that I delete my previous threads.

I’m a bit pissed that they would fire such a passionate team member over something like this… but like I said, it’s not for me to decide. I accept it.

I can’t wait to see what Golem becomes. I will continue to hold my GNT, I will be among the first to use Brass Golem when it’s released, I will gush about the coolness of Golem to friends.

Julian is, overall, a god damned wonderful boss. I’ve had dozens of bosses, and he’s in my top three favourite. Work for him if you get the chance.

The rest of the team is the kind of hyper-smart that makes me pretty sure I’m the dumbest guy in the room. I hold no ill-will towards them at all.

That said, I believe the community deserves to know what is happening in the creation of an app that will be global, open sourced, and likely paradigm shifting in it’s impact.

So…. now you know.

Cheers,
-- Eddy Azar


P.S. Needless to say, I am now looking to join a new bad-ass project in the blockchain space. I helped Golem raise 820,000 ETH in 29 minutes, gotten my projects on The Daily Mail, Yahoo News, TechCrunch, Lifehacker, etc., taken my personal review blog from 0 to 14040 views and 29% read ratios (on >2000 word blog posts) in 1 month, and co-founded the Bitcoin communities in Bali and Singapore.

Uhm…. you’re gonna have to be pretty transparent or we’ll likely find ourselves somewhere like here ;P

You can see all my work and contact me at mywork.eddyazar.com.

Sort:  

Hi, I hope you are alright. I am doing blogging and markting in Mosteiros. My own fun company, you know what I am doing. :) I didn't read that earlier therwise I would \have asked to team up wih you. If you wato do somehing togeher, I am also getting fired a lot in the past but now not anymore since I make money here on steemit from the payouts. I will wriet younan email but i like to do things in public

Good luck on your future endeavor

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64678.67
ETH 3086.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87