Ethereum Could Launch A Proof of Stake Testnet For Casper

in #ethereum7 years ago

As you may already know, Ethereum is moving from PoW to PoS. The codename of the Proof of Stake protocol is Casper (a bit strange, if you ask me, to put the name of a ghost, even a nice one, on a blockchain governance protocol) and according to a story published by Coindesk, Ethereum devs decided to kick off a testnet for it.

While this is major news, that doesn't mean Ethereum will move to Casper very soon, it just means there is a testnet ready for the protocol. In many ways, Casper may work similarly to Steem, but the delegation part is unclear. The testnet will have some delegation going on (or, as they name it, authoritative accounts) but we don't know yet if and how delegation will be used in the final version of the protocol.

All in all, this is a nice step forward and, from my perspective, it brings the two blockchains, Ethereum and Steem even closer. The other interesting similarity between the two is coming from Steem, and it's obviously the implementation of Smart Media Tokens, which can be seen as a very specific type of a smart contract on top of the Steem blockchain.


I'm a serial entrepreneur, blogger and ultrarunner. You can find me mainly on my blog at Dragos Roua where I write about productivity, business, relationships and running. Here on Steemit you may stay updated by following me @dragosroua.


Dragos Roua


You can also vote for me as witness here:
https://steemit.com/~witnesses


If you're new to Steemit, you may find these articles relevant (that's also part of my witness activity to support new members of the platform):

Sort:  

Casper is also a city in Wyoming USA..pretty nice place actually.

Waw! Just got to know this. Thanks for sharing.

Had no idea :) Looks nice!

It is nice...in a Wyoming kinda way.
I been there a few (dozen) times while I was truckin.

This is a great news for Ethereum HODLER like myself.

lots of development around eth

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77