From $2000 to $1 Million, Whats is the Sauce?

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

A Melbourne fitness trainer has become an instant millionaire after turning a $2000 investment into more than $1 million. and he is only 21 years old.

Ethereum-homestead-background-44.jpg

I Stumbled upon this article about a fitness trainer, Jordan Traves who invested $2000 in Ethereum and then went on a backpacking trip, totally unaware of what is going on in the Crypto world.

After returning from his backpacking trip, which in my personal view is the best thing to happen to this guy, because he would have sold much earlier if not for the trip to South America, and that is exactly what he did when in April this year he saw an article about Ethereum in the news about Ethereum being at 50USD.

backpacking.jpg

Still unaware of how much he has, he said:

“The article said the price was $US50 … so I figured my original investment might be worth $20,000 or something,” he said.

That night he went home and logged into his account: he owned 5190 Ethereum.

“I plugged the numbers into my phone: 5190 multiplied by $US50 is … two hundred and sixty grand! I just sat there looking at the screen, I was literally dumbfounded. And I mean literally.”

And then things got really crazy.

“I called my parents. My mom was jumping up and down screaming with excitement! And Dad … didn’t believe it.”

Travers’ dad advised him to sell 75 per cent of his holdings “immediately”. Which he did and Over the next four weeks, he watched the price of Ethereum jump sixfold.

that is why at the beginning of the post, I said backpacking and forgetting about his investment was probably the best decision of his life, I think he would have sold much earlier if not for that trip. After cashing out $719,000 he still has $340,000 in Ethereum,

What really surprised me about all this, is that our friend is not a real crypto enthusiast, but got really lucky. When he was asked if he will put some money again in Bitcoin or other Cryptocurrency project he said:

"I don't think lightning would strike twice."

While I disagree with him about that, I can only wish him the best of luck in his journey with his new found fortune. and despite his new-found fortune, Travers has kept his job as a fitness trainer in North Fitzroy.

Let me know what would you do if someday you found yourself sitting on $1million of crypto, will you sell everything? 50% perhaps, stay long term till mass adoption or do like Travers.


Image Source: http://sebfor.com/wp-content/
Original article: http://ethereumworldnews.com/

Hope you enjoyed this and stay tuned @digdaga for more stories.

Sort:  

I love hearing stories like this! Thank you for the reminder to invest and forget.

Sometimes it good to invest in something and move on with normal life instead of checking how much you're up or down in your investment. and that is one Warren buffet strategies to invest in something he understands well and keep it long time.

I'm going in "Warren Style"! Woot. Fingers crossed for Steemit.

What an amazing story. I wish I had not looked at Bitcoin after I mined a bunch a cashed out early. Hindsight is always 20/20 I guess. So happy for this guy! Way to go!

most early adopters and miners cashed out pretty early, this guy was really lucky to go on a trip and not watch the daily numbers.

this is a great post. enjoyed the post and the comments too. thanks for sharing @digdaga

Which comment did you enjoy, I bet bots will always be bots. Thank you bot!

I think I have heard this kind of story before. Oh yeah it was a story about a college student that invested $25 into bitcoin when it was still valued in cents. He just invested and forgot about it until bitcoin hit $200 and oh my he made a great fortune out of it

Many stories told, and much more to come if we keep heading up!

Cool story. Def a lot more cryptocurrency millionaires to be minted in the coming years

I hope you are right! and thanks.

Literally my dream right now! Great story!

hahaha, wish your dream can come true!

Why is Ethereum better than bitcoin?

I did not say it is better, it is simply a story of fitness trainer that invested in Ethereum and made some serious profit.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56478.46
ETH 2384.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34