Ethereum blockchain syncing too slowly? Use this trick to sync Ethereum REALLY fast.

in #ethereum8 years ago (edited)

So I don't know about you, but for me, sometimes I may not sync to the Ethereum blockchain for a couple of days or even weeks. It is a real bad habit, I know, I know, but come on! Syncing everyday is an absolute PITA and I do fall behind, and when I do fall behind (my most recent was two weeks) I find the sync takes aaaages.

So what do I do? This neat little trick will have you syncing again in no time (assuming you are using Geth client):

First of all, you need to get rid of your old chaindata, you can only sync using this 'fast' mode when it is an empty chain, so to do this, I recommend you move your current chaindata folder to a backup location.

So for example:

Move the following folder:
C:\Users\computerName\AppData\Roaming\Ethereum\chaindata

To a completely new location, perhaps your desktop.

If you don't have Geth, you can download it from here:
https://github.com/ethereum/go-ethereum/wiki/geth

Then you can run Geth like so (I use cmd on Windows to navigate to the location of geth.exe then run):
geth --fast

This will force your sync to download extremely fast. You can thank me later. Just remember, this only works if your chaindata folder is empty.

Once the new sync has completed, you can delete the old chaindata folder that you created earlier.

I hope this helps someone, if you have any questions or comments just let me know!

****Follow me @darknet for more cool shit - just hit follow in the top right****

Sort:  

The article is outdated. I believe now Fast syncmode is the default in Mist Ethereum Wallet configuration now, but it is experiencing slowness to the extend that it cannot get sync-ed even after hours, days, weeks !

Do you have any update on it?

What out this other recent article, I will attemp to overcome. https://steemit.com/blockchain/@bennyliaw/ethereum-node-client-synchronization-and-scalability-issue

comment pruned due to size

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64440.63
ETH 2653.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80