iEx.ec has a great board of advisors which includes reps from Genesis Mining, Gatecoin, Wanxiang Blockchain Lab, and more!

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

Why I sold all my Golem tokens for iEx.ec

My confidence in iEx.ec continues to rise. As a result I have sold 100% of my Golem tokens to buy iEx.ec and below in this post I will explain some of my reasoning behind my decision.

IEx.ec so far in my opinion is doing everything right. They have a dream team of developers who are top researchers with doctorate degrees in the specific areas of research necessary for distributed cloud computing. They have an excellent middleware with code already written called XtremWeb-Hep. This middleware is well made and in my estimation will reduce development time to 3 months minus any time spent testing. So from this we know they have the expertise, the code, but of course business is more than just having the code.

iEx.ec has relationships and a great board of advisors and partners. A list of the advisors and partners are below:

  1. Genesis Mining - Marco Streng, founder and CEO, Genesis Mining.
  2. Business Advisor: Aurélien Menant, founder and CEO, Gatecoin
  3. Business Advisor: Han Feng, President, Digital Assets Coalition of Asia (DACA)
  4. Financial Support: HyperChain Capital, Fintech Blockchain Group (FBG), Wanxiang Blockchain Lab
  5. Industry Partner: Christophe Perron, CEO, Stimergy
  6. Academic Partner: CAS, Chinese Academy of Sciences
  7. Academic Partner: CNRS, French National Research Center
  8. Academic partner: INRIA, French National Institute of Computer and Automation
  9. Legal Advisor: Simon Polrot, Lawyer, Fieldfisher
  10. Investment Platform: ICO365, imtoken, ICOAge
  11. Security Advisor: Open Zeppelin

(as of April 10 2017)

Conclusion

I am impressed by the number and quality of relationships iEx.ec has built over such a short period of time prior to launch of a product. Organizations and even individuals do not make wise decisions all by themselves and it's the quality of their team of advisors which can indicate the quality of decisions they can make in the future. I am impressed by the team they have assembled, the decisions they have made so far, even their budgeting looks excellent:

ETH Addresses:

source: medium.com/iex-ec/iexec-crowdsale-results-and-kickoff-budget-a1104e4f16e7

Vesting Periods:

source: medium.com/iex-ec/iexec-crowdsale-results-and-kickoff-budget-a1104e4f16e7

In addition their design looks excellent and as you see it can easily scale because computation is done off chain.

The price of RLC is under $1 which in my opinion will not last for very long once people understand what they are going to do.

References

  1. https://medium.com/iex-ec/iex-ec-announces-high-profile-board-of-advisors-c2654ad44d80
  2. https://github.com/lodygens/xtremweb-hep?files=1
  3. https://medium.com/iex-ec/iex-ec-edcon-0-ten-steps-to-understand-the-technology-behind-the-ethereum-decentralized-cloud-d1f4ba233643

Anyone looking to buy the RLC token (iEx.ec token) can find them at Bittrex.
https://bittrex.com/Market/Index?MarketName=BTC-RLC

Just follow @craig-grant video instructions on how to buy.

Sort:  

I have bought some as well. I am also waiting for this guys https://sonm.io

I still don't understand why people are not buying Agoras and RLC.

Agoras is not on Ethereum so buying it would cost more as someone would have to convert ETH to BTC to AGRS. This might also induce taxes, so there is no really easy way to get ETH wealth out of Ethereum right now in my opinion. On the other hand I do think Agoras will easily be over $1 as well once the founder Ohad releases some code and related documents. If you can get it cheap then get it cheap while you still can because 6 months from now might never see these prices again if Ohad proves his thesis.

Thanks @dana-edwards , Yes I have bought some on bittrex

What an impressive list of partners and advisors!

Indeed, i went into this instead of GNT, mainly due to expertise and experience. You've got a great deal though :D GNT has been doing pretty well.

Do you know how they can prove that someone is providing resources?

Can you elaborate on what you mean? In terms of computing there is verified computation but that issue isn't really the big concern I would think? That can be achieved easier than you would think.

Think of it like this, your smart contract exists on the Ethereum blockchain. It asks a question to the Oracle and the Oracle passes the question to the custom (likely XtremeWeb-Hep) distributed computation network. The distributed computation network then computes the answer to the question, returns it to the Oracle, and the Oracle then passes it to the smart contract.

The key technologies they have to develop are the Oracle and the API tools for smart contract developers. The XtremeWeb-Hep is developed. If I answered your question wrong maybe I misunderstood what you meant? In any case please have a look at the video interview where the founder explains in more detail:

I'm not really sure what I meant :-). I've never just really digged into distributed incentivized computing, so I thought it might be a problem that participants fake the answers in hope of a better payoff. Can answers be proved with less computing than it takes to get them?

The incentive I assume comes from the RLC token so I would also have to assume the RLC token will become extremely valuable. The only way to buy computation from the network will be through the RLC token fed into the smart contract or API. Companies can do the computation off chain and this can be secured by both legal and technical means. So this means big mining companies can do it and I'm guessing the Oracle will handle verifying that the computation is done according to standard but I don't know for certain the details.

Excellent question. What currently prevents Amazon AWS or similar from giving fake answers?

Thanks for the answer. The team and connections are convincing enough, so I created some BTC and bought me some RLC.

I bumped into an article from SONM, where they say their solution is to hold some of the funds in custody, which then can be frozen if fraud is detected. In addition there is whitelisting. I still have to find out how to algortithmically detect fraud..

Great move in selling GNT and buying RLC! Doing a little research always comes in handy.

Also invested based on your rep. Thanks. Send some RLC between my wallet and the exchange and back for testing after adding the contract. Getting it all of the exchange now and the hodling can begin :)

dana what about your agoras tokens? lol u sold all of them?

I have not and will not be selling any Agoras tokens. There is a huge difference between Golem and Agoras.

glad to know.

Thanks Dana, just bought some :)

Very good article. I was about to start a similair discussion. The decision to buy a coin should be based on real analysis of the coin. I found that people keep buying coins without have any knowledge of them. This is considered high risk. Does anyone know about: https://www.coincheckup.com I'm using this site that gives in depth reports on every tradable cryto in the market.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 61740.86
ETH 3453.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51