The Potential of Ethereum (feat. Bitcoin)

in #ethereum7 years ago

Fellow astronauts (queue Rocket Man by Elton John),

As you are all aware, ETH broke $100 for the first time in history, and it is currently just under $115. We are all fascinated by its potential: a decentralized, smart-contract trading platform that allows person to person transactions over the Ethereum computer's network. While it has about 5 times the supply of Bitcoin, I wonder what it's true potential can bring.

While it is completely different from Bitcoin, and was designed to bring someone completely different to the table, I wonder what their relationship will be as they coincide for years to come. There has been so many times I've wanted to convert all my BTC holdings to Ether, and vise-versa, and I just can't seem to do away with one without pondering about the other.

I know the inherent worth of bitcoin is its supply and demand (only 21 million will ever exist). I also know it was designed so it physically can never be hacked (only exchanges that hold them can be). Nonetheless, Ethereum's edge on it is that its transaction speed is significantly more efficient. Conversely, major banks and corporations such as Microsoft, Chase, Santander, and more, are openly backing and assisting in the development in Ethereum which raises major red flags to me. Let's also throw in the mix that the entire project is under the leadership of a 23 year old kid.

While both have their pro's and con's, I guess the best thing to do is accumulate both. A little diversity can't hurt I suppose.

HAPPY NEW YEARS ALL! Waiting for Ethereum to break $100 was like waiting for the ball to drop at Times Square. I wish you all good fortune and peace.

-C.C.C.

Sort:  

ETH will reach 150$ in the mid of june 2017

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64622.42
ETH 3518.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46