You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ETH vs. ETC - What matters is the future.

in #ethereum8 years ago

I too thought that Ethereum Classic wouldn't last long. But it looks to have staying power. If there's one thing I've learned about investing in crypto, it's that you have to go with the flow and be flexible enough to recognize that the markets don't care about your opinion. The markets can stay irrational much longer than you can stay capitalized.

I view the rise of ETC as basically the crypto equivalent of a stock split. ETH lost value in the split, but all ETH holders got free ETC, and the combined value of ETH+ETC has remained pretty consistent near the pre-fork price of ETH in BTC terms. So I think that's the proper way to value Ethereum going forward: you have to look at ETH+ETC as a whole. Anytime I buy ETH, I will also buy a matching amount of ETC. They are two faces of the same coin.

And just to be clear: I don't care one bit about the purist ideals of the people who kept ETC going after the fork. I just care that I can make money from it! If ETC overtakes ETH, great my ETC will be worth a lot. If it doesn't, then great my ETH will be worth a lot. If they both rise in value, great! It's a win-win situation. So keep calm and hodl on!

Sort:  

"The markets can stay irrational much longer than you can stay capitalized." I'm stealing this.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 67241.85
ETH 3492.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68