You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Should Ethereum hardfork AGAIN?!

in #ethereum7 years ago

If anything sinks Ethereum I think that it will be EOS. Ethereum and Bitcoin are way too slow.

I know Vitalik talked about his plans on scaling recently, but I really have a feeling that EOS will be the "Ethereum Killer".

Sort:  

I'm not sure EOS is actually competition for Ethereum. It's an operating system and yes it does solve the some of the problems Ethereum has with lack of secure libraries but it's not out yet and we don't know of EOS will have some bugs too. I do think though that Dan Larimer being involved indicates the code quality will be very high and also because Dan Larimer tends to select high quality libraries for his code base.

I think if people are going to do a smart contract platform a lot of care has to go into the smart contract language and it has to be designed to be as safe as possible without requiring the programmer to have God like abilities. If it takes top programmers to do even simple stuff then Ethereum will never be able to provide trustworthy decentralized authority.

Scaling is a separate problem entirely but still, they have to solve that too. I'm actually in favor of sharding and Raiden. I don't know Plasma well enough to comment but in general I think Ethereum will scale to a point but not as much as people will want. I mean to say, it will be scalable but with sacrifices (off chain sacrifices).

Very well said.

I have started working on building a couple of different coins on the Ethereum network through Mist, but I just feel like the Ethereum TPS is much too slow to handle all of the businesses that will be converting to Crypto over the next few years.

Much like the internet revolutionized the economy, I believe that the Blockchain will be even more revolutionary but transactions per second is the biggest problem in scalability that I am not quite sure Ethereum will be able to solve. Sharding is something I am in favor of as well, but as you said I think scalability of the Ethereum Blockchain will take a lot of work.

I thought EOS was going to be it's own Blockchain not just an operating system. Am I incorrect about that?

I'm guessing EOS does have blockchains, and will scale, but the innovation will be in my opinion ease of development. The one area where Ethereum struggles is there along with scaling. EOS is interesting but I cannot buy it at these prices.

Yeah @dana-edwards, I think that the current prices are a bit high for a coin/blockchain that is still in development for most people, but I definitely think there is some long term potential there. I bought my EOS at around 50 cents each about 2 or 3 weeks so I can't complain so far.

Thanks for your responses and the conversation. I am following you now and hopefully we will chat some more in the future. Keep up the good work!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54