Ethereum unique address has grown significantly since DAO attack/ WTF?!?

in #ethereum8 years ago

I don't know what to think anymore with my ethers, whether to hold them or not. When I'm talking to traders, they're all shorting it but when I look at the network I really want to buy more: https://etherscan.io/charts/address

Last month when the DAO attack occured the number of address was about 300k. There's about 426k address at the moment. 

How can that be ? I thought that project was death...

<iframe src="//giphy.com/embed/3o6UB5RrlQuMfZp82Y" width="480" height="356" frameBorder="0" class="giphy-embed" allowFullScreen></iframe><p><a href="http://giphy.com/gifs/confused-travolta-poor-wallet-3o6UB5RrlQuMfZp82Y">via GIPHY</a></p>



Sort:  

The fundamentals behind the Ethereum network have not changed, IMO. The use cases have not gone away, nor has the developers and sheer excitement about some of the projects out there.

The DAO demonstrated resilience of the system and the community. A hard fork is all but inevitable at this point (based on momentum and vote samples). It also demonstrates to the world that the Ethereum ecosystem is resistant to attacks.

Bottom line: the fundamentals remain, therefore the use cases remain. If the use cases are there, pain points can be answered in existing industries and the ecosystem will continue the trajectory it was on. More DAO contracts will be created, pushing more and more capital into various experiments and companies. I'm HODLING ETH and BTC among others.

You convinced me to hold my bag.

I tend to stay away from "hype trains" like ETH, I mean I'll day trade it, but only to make some more BTC. I really don't like over hype and dislike anon devs even more... So I tend to hold coins that have been around a while or at least have dev's I trust/respect, so instead of holding ETH I chose EXP, and try to pick up more when I see it on a dip or will trade it back and forth for more.

as for the dao and fork time will tell how crypto land feels about it.

Thx for sharing info :)
Do you know when the fork will happen ?

I'm not sure, I kind of assumed it already happened.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63799.64
ETH 3130.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97