The Tezos ICO ‘Missing Links’ – Info I Needed to Know, but You May Have Missed!

in #ethereum7 years ago

Will You Buy the Tezzie T-Shirt at the Tezos ICO on July 1? (Tezzie pronounced ‘tA-zEE’ like ‘Lazy’)

The Reddit and other Boards have been hot with questions and comments.

The hardest info to find has been the Total Coins planned in the Tezos Universe, an important fact because Coins with Lower ‘Mintage’ may be better buys in many Investor’s minds.

What’s Bothered Most Investors are These Two Facts:

  1. The Tezos ICO (Initial Coin Offering) will be ‘Uncapped’… so the Total Coins sold and existing to start with after the ICO can be any number, and;

  2. Tezos has no final ‘Total Coin Cap’ in mind… it seems that an Infinite Supply of Tizzies in the future is possible.
    That ‘Demand-killing Supply’ makes any investment in Tezos now seem very foolish.

So here’s the best link I've found to get my FAQs answered:

http://www.tezos.community

On that Board, I’ve found the following answers:

  1. The ‘Total Coin Cap’ (TCC) any year will be 5% more than the ‘TCC’ the year before.

  1. The 5% will not be mined, but issued in payment to whichever Stakeholders (Coin Owners) participate in Tezos ‘maintenance operations’ (my phrase).

  1. All Stakeholders can participate, and earn their own 5% of the Tezzies they hold. If so, their investment will not be deflated by the 5% increasing number of coins.

  2. The First Year’s TCC will be whatever number of coins are locked in during the ICO. Once the Tezzies are ‘Instantiated’ to ICO investors (or ‘created & issued,’ but I like that nice, geeky word :0), those initial coins will be tradable on whatever crypto exchanges choose to list Tezzies.

So What?

For me, this info satisfies me that the STRUCTURE of the Tezos protocols is not inherently deflationary for any initial investment I choose to make at the ICO.

And getting in early on the ICO gains an up to 20% Bonus in Tezzies.

And even if I held Tezos for a few years while my % of ownership declined due to the annual 5%, if Tezos rose in demand anywhere near that of XBT or ETH over those years, the deflation in my coins would be insignificant.

So, Question to Self … ‘To Buy, or Not To Buy’ myself a Tezzie T-Shirt o/a July 1?

I think it boils down to my read on the Founders, Developers, Technology and Competitive, Real-World Applications for Tezos over the next few years, vs. the competing Crypts.

At this point, I do plan to roll over some of my 2017 ETH gains into XTZ on July 1, and stake my claim on the Tezos ‘Genesis Block.’

How about You … Any Thoughts?

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 65292.16
ETH 2651.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.85