The Ethereum Blockchain Mainnet is over 20GB

in #ethereum7 years ago

goodering.png

This last week I've been in the process of syncing my wallet to the Ethereum blockchain. I found one of the major setbacks I faced was the overall size of the blockchain when syncing onto my Macbook Air. I initially started syncing using the Mist Browser but soon found that it had already used more than 20gb to completely sync the blockchain, it was well over what I had available on my computer and it quickly caused problems.

In the end it took me 3 days on and off to completely sync the main-net and my laptop had already begun to overheat, I assume this is because it is an old laptop. It was then I was told about another wallet, Parity, which synced to the blockchain in about 2hours and only taking up about 11 or so GB.

Basically the Ethereum blockchain will gradually grow over time, so for those new to cryptocurrency ensure you have enough space on your hard drive disk when syncing your wallets.

Sort:  

Very interesting, thanks for sharing. Upped and following you.

Thanks, I'm glad my posts are being found useful :)

thxs for posting....didnt know that for ETH.....i know that monero,it takes ages and space on your HD too...
while im on prepaid here in thailand,and so i was in AUS im using exodus wallet....it has ETH,BTC,LTC,DASH,REP,DOGE,and Golum.....no problem with sync. and running out of space on your HD....
cheers

I haven't heard of Exodus wallet, looking at their features I really like their Shapeshift integration.

the bitcoin miner fee is a bit high but....otherwise i love it.......no sync....if i have a bit of an amount i transfer it to my nano s......
hope i could help you a bit.....
cheers

Congratulations @ardy! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44