HACKED -WILD WILD WEST

in #ethereum7 years ago (edited)

One thing that I respect about STEEMIT is how they set up a mandatory password that you must use. It makes it a little harder to hack. Sorry, but on Bittrex if you are not computer savvy, then the procedure screams, "Hey, come hack me!I Did not set up 2 F. Was going to do this later. SO foolish! Wish I had to to get an account.
HERE IS MY STORY:On a Sunday morning I awakened to use my limit money to buy bitcoin and hurriedly wanted to transfer it to Bittrex to buy NEO. I needed that address from Bittrex so I hurriedly searched for the address(mistake #1). A secure address came up so I thought click on that because it said Norton Safe. BUT, what it did was take me to Bltrexx.com not Bitrexx.com,and I missed looking up and checking(mistake2).Then I get a message "Doing security check, please enter your email address. A screen that looks like Yahoo''s appears and thinking it really is a security issue put my password in(Unforgivable mistake#3). It says it might take 5 minutes to update. In that time they went into my email and pretended to be me, deleted the Bittrex notification(which I recovered), set up 2F and blocked Bittrex. My Bittrex account is till locked and no response from ticket. PLEASE LEARN FROM ME IF YOU ARE NEW TO THIS GAME. Thankfully, only lost 36 NEO. The IP address is from Belgium which I found on the email they deleted from my account. I have never felt this much rage and would love to track them down!

Sort:  

Congratulations @apaula1854! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You got a First Vote
You made your First Comment
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @apaula1854! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got a First Reply

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

This site is still up! We need the modern day police to catch them. I recovered the deleted emails and found the IP was from Belgium.

Congratulations @apaula1854! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62900.39
ETH 3357.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47