Should Ethereum fork?

in #ethereum8 years ago

Everyone of us know what happened recently with Ethereum and The DAO. Now there are a lot of solutions on the table, and fork is one of the most probables.

I have heard some good opinions on the side of forking and also in the opposite side, but always from people very involved with Ethereum. Now I want to know your opinion, maybe you're less related with this technology than me and the people who have talked with me about it. I need a farer point of view.

  • What do you guys think about this?
  • Should Ethereum fork?
  • Why?
  • Would you use more Ethereum with the fork or without it?
  • ...

Thanks :)

Sort:  

Well, I am wondering about the role of Microsoft here. Their support for devcon2 was announced only a short time before the dao disaster. Given that they support the technology a lot, and even have solidity within Visual Studio as a plugin, I am expecting something here. Any thoughts on this?

Nobody shared this approach with me before you lol. Are you thinking about some Microsoft strategy with this topic? :o

If you mean that Microsoft has a strategy w. r. t. blockchain technology, then yes: The big tech players like Microsoft and IBM do have a strategy, and their commitments to the technology as a whole is not just a reflex. If you mean the ETH network? I am not sure. Maybe they like the innovations, support the EVM and solidity, but let the network go its own way, which includes dying. Solidity and the EVM (with or without ETH) may live on in azure's blockchain ecosystem. But lets see how their offerings look like in, say, 1/2 year from now...

Hard Forking will probably be a disaster for ETH price and trust on the network.

While many people (like myself) will be unhappy if there is no way to recover the funds, the priority should be to maintain the network's neutrality.

Be as it may, DAO was only 15% of ETH's token and just half of it got stolen for good.

I agree forking is going to be bad for the ETH network. What is done is done.

I don't agree. For the simple reason that it will be a decision made by consensus and not effect the networks neutrality.

As a person I want the fork to happen, as a network not that much. IMHO ETH should be neutral and we should separate what we want from what we need...

Either way the price will find a new low. ETH will become a good purchase once again. If it hits sub $3ish then I'm get back in as I believe that even with all it's faults, there is a real potential for that platform and the devs are very handy.

I thought (according to CCN) the decision is made on hardfork, interesting enough that I never get my chance to vote, the mining pool had one vote for softrork and that never carried out, did I miss anything?

I upvoted you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51