etherdelta site changed and I almost lost my money!

in #etherdelta7 years ago

So a day or 3 ago github was having some problems with the Etherdelta site. As an alternative, etherdelta stood up another site at Etherdelta.com. (see pic with EtherDelta.com domain and a happy green wallet again.. and happy Jason :)) Too bad there isn't more eth in there.. feel free to donate haha.
ED.jpgI (like many of you?) have been in a bit of a frenzy opening accounts (wallets, etc..) at various exchanges. I enable 2 factor when I deposit, I write down challenge phases when I deposit money, I generally don't do either of those when I open an account but don't fund it. Sometimes I just want to see what the site is like/about. If I like it, I fund it and get backups. Somehow, I missed that step with one of my early sites, i.e. Etherdelta. So, I didn't even have my wallet address handy, much less my private key. What I did have, was google, and a background in IT. So, lucky for me (and maybe you if you're reading this), I found some help that pointed me in the right place to find/figure out both. This only applies to google chrome browser and not with mist enable (just web wallet).
"[–]DeltaBalances 3 points 13 hours ago
As a temporary solution, go to another file on the github domain. Like https://etherdelta.github.io/config/main.json.
You will see some JSON code that is not interesting to you, but you are on the correct domain without a redirect.
Now find the localstorage in the developer tools of your browser, and you can find your private key in there.
For example on chrome this is Options > developer tools > application tab > localstorage"
Credit to "DeltaBalances" in reddit. It wasn't exact location for chrome on mac, but good enough to get me where I needed.

Sort:  

I am new at Steemit. Its a great community.
I 'm friendly minded.
I need help to grow up this community.
Any one follow me @rsrb and upvote my comment me inform me I also do the same.
Thanks

Thanks for sharing... Love it.

Thanks, I thought I had lost it. Hopefully this can help someone else too.. or at least give them hope.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49