How to view custom token (QRL/CRB etc) balance on your ethereum address?

Today I bought some Quantum Resistant Ledger tokens (QRLs) and CreditBit tokens (CRBs) in bittrex and transferred them to my ethereum address. To make sure that they are successfully transferred to my address, I went to https://etherscan.io and entered my address. I was hoping them to show up in the token tracker field when clicked on "[View Token Balances & Value]". But to my surprise these tokens didn't show up there even after 30 mins.

But I could see that the transfer to my address is successful by clicking on the "Token Transfers" tab.

I had very hard time figuring out what is going on here? Why my token balance is not shown "Token Tracker" field. I was at least not nervous because it showed that the transaction was successfully went through. May be is it a bug in etherscan.io? I thought of checking it in https://myetherwallet.com. To my utter surprise, they didn't show up even there. Hmm, looks like I am missing something here.

And then I see a button called "Add Custom Token". May be this is the rescue? I clicked on it, and it asked for 3 fields:

  1. Address
  2. Token Symbol
  3. Decimals

What should I enter here? For sure, the address must not be my own address because if it is, then it doesn't have to ask me. I know token symbol though. And what should I enter for "Decimals"?

I then thought https://coinmarketcap.com might help me. I went to the website, searched for Quantum Resistant Ledger and open its page. I see couple of links. "Website" and "Explorer".

I clicked on "Explorer". It launched etherscan.io website. I looked at the URL. It has something called "Address". Hmm, this might be the address!!! I thought "let me try this". There I also see the "Token Decimals" value.

I entered these values in the "Add Custom Token" form and clicked "Save".

Hooray!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Now I can see my QRL balance and also can transfer the QRL tokens to any other address.

Sort:  

What wallet are you using for the QRL?

QRL doesn't have any special wallet. It is an ERC token on ethereum. So you have ethereum address and use ethereum wallet (myetherwallet.com in my post)

Thanks for responding ☻ I have an Ether address in the Jaxx wallet.. don't know if they support custom tokens?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 65791.75
ETH 3465.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68