Mike Novogratz: I purchased the First 500,000 ETH from Vitalik Buterin for $0.99

in #eth4 years ago

Galaxy Digital founder Mike Novogratz said that his introduction to the largest cryptocurrencies occurred with the purchase of 30,000 bitcoins and half a million ethers in the early stages of the existence of both assets.

In a conversation with Nugget News, Novogratz said that a friend asked him about bitcoin in 2012, after which he began to study this topic and concluded that the cryptocurrency is waiting for an inevitable growth.

"I bought the first bitcoins for about $95. This was a very speculative decision. I bought it because I thought it would grow. Then I called Dan Morehead of Pantera Capital and said, " Morehead, look, I don't have time.” Two weeks later he called me and said: "This will change the world," Novogratz said.

Then Novogratz and Morehead decided to invest a substantial amount in bitcoin: "to Dan's respect, he bought a lot. We were much richer then than Dan. He bought a lot of bitcoins, about 30,000. Then we decided that we would buy 30,001, because we couldn't afford to let him have more.
"
He admitted that he planned to sell bitcoin for $1,000 to buy a plane, but his partner Pete Briger did not allow him to do this, saying that the cryptocurrency could go much higher.

"I bought my first airs from Vitalik Buterin. I met him once at lunch, and he remembered me, but he didn't know me. But they thought it would be good for the community to have a wall street buyer. Then I bought half a million ethers for 99 cents, " Novogratz said. – At the last minute, he changed the price for me from 98 cents to 99 cents, because I waited too long and the price went up."

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67698.91
ETH 3266.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64