Hashrate Arbitrage: The Reason for the ETC Rally

in #etc7 years ago

So in the first post a briefly talked about some ways that I profit from mispriced assets. I spoke about my new arbitrage spread calculator I'm working on and regrettably made my second post about, when I should have wrote about Hashrate Arbitrage. This is a term I came up with, and while not exactly arbitrage, it just kind of makes sense because you are using network hashrate differentials to tell you which coins to buy or sell.
Take any two coins that are clones or chain splits of one an other, like ETH and ETC. They are essentially the same thing. You may hear arguments like "ETC has no Dev team", or "people only buy ETC because they think it's ETH" Well ETH is open sourced and anything their team develops can be implemented on the classic chain and ETC is ETH; they were once the same thing, the only difference now is their network size, In fact from the stand point of a DAPP developer you could program the exact same DAPP but pay much less gas fees to run it by choosing ETC over ETH. So way back when BTC was new and the first clones started popping up I started saying thisphrase; "A coin is only as good as it network hasrate" This was the phrase I used to combat all the BTC naysayers that claimed BTC had no value because anyone could just make "Jo-shmocoin". They were failing to see that the value was derived from the work being done to secure the chain.
So if ETH and ETC technically function the same, is the huge price discrepancy warranted? Well lets compare Hashrate shall we. ETH has a network hashrate of around 29 TH while ETC only has a network hashrate of 2.8 TH, so basically ETC's network is 1/10 the size of ETH, since this is the only real difference I concluded that ETC should be 1/10 the price of ETH. I Have used this method many times to derive the value of a coin that is cloned or split. I purchased ETC last month for this very reason @.003, as of last night this gap has closed and I sold @.008, Almost a triple up, or one years pay at my previous job.

Sort:  

There we go! Thank you ETC for staying faithful to my hashrate theory. That was a great trade .0068 to .0077 even betting than the 10% that was implied at the start of the trade.

Reentering this trade for round three at .007 let's see another 10%

So this spread widened again, I'm reentering ETC at .0068 should be able to get another 10%

and more at .0065

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67865.46
ETH 3258.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64