You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Walk With Me: Dew Walking Hydrotherapy

in #esteemapp6 years ago

Oh this sounds divine! Do I understand correctly that this will help with inflamation from arthritis in the knee? Does the constriction of the vessels reach that high? Or will the use of the hot/cold packs be better for that particular instance? I never thought about that but it makes perfect sense! I use the over the counter stuff just to make it to work lol.

You are a gem and I usually feel like I need to pay you for an office visit each time we talk LMAO

Sort:  

Ultimately "yes" @tamaralovelace. In the case of knee joint inflammation, the effectiveness depends on the extent of the damage. Usually what happens in the knee, is that there will be an initial injury whereby the knee ligaments have been torn. The person will change the way they weight-bear to compensate for the pain with each step. After 6 weeks, these new walking patterns become hardwired into the muscles and connective tissue. Over time, this "work around" prematurely erodes the cartilage away. This cartilage is called meniscus and they are supposed to act like shock absorbers inside the knee and their function is to protect the bones in the upper and lower leg and minimize internal force.
Once the meniscus wears out, the bones rub and this friction, triggers the bones to grow new bone mass. This sequence of events leads to what is known as osteoarthritis.
The most effective treatments for this condition is to restore the gait back to the body's original factory settings (lol!) and strengthen the muscles in the upper and lower leg to regain as much structural integrity within the joint as we can.
All of that, is another post unto itself.
Just exercise caution and don't try walking too fast (if you have a compromised knee joint and you try dew walking)...slipping on wet grass can further tear tissue.
In your everyday, good quality, lace up shoes with descent arch support and gel cushioning in the footbed is the best. No one should be wearing rigid ballerina flats or thin flip flops. :)

That all makes perfect sense. I've been working on strengthening the leg muscles as part of an overall fitness regime. I thought I was losing my core strength but now I think it may be due to the change in weight-bearing, like you mentioned. I will be trying the dew walking . Oftentimes I go out in the grass barefooted, but haven't tried it in the dew .....yet!

Great! Let me know what you think, if you do give it a go.
I find it very invigorating. Really sets the tone for the whole day. ;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.13
TRX 0.12
JST 0.024
BTC 51367.14
ETH 2266.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.01