Walk With Me: 150 Feet From Hatch Site To Water

in #esteemapp6 years ago

Not joking. 150 Feet might as well be a 5,000 mile journey when you’ve just hatched.

image

See What I See:

A baby snapping turtle hatched on Sept. 4th after incubating in the ground for 4 months.

Female Snapping Turtles climb out of the river at the end of May, first week of June and they lay a whole clutch of eggs.

image

They prefer sand and or gravel to lay their eggs in.
Often the soft shoulder of roads are chosen.

image

In my area (which is eastern, Ontario Canada) female Snappers are approximately 25 years old before they are mature enough to even lay eggs.

image

Once the laying of the eggs is complete, the female buries her eggs and makes her way back to the river.

The whole process of digging a hole, laying the eggs and then burying them, takes approximately 4 hours.

What is left, is some claw marks in the sand and some disrupted ground.

image

If the nest doesn’t get raided by a predator like a skunk, a raccoon or a fox, and the weather conditions are correct, baby turtles will hatch in 4 months time.

The odds are completely stacked against Mother turtles and their babies. Most never make the cycle of life completely. That’s just the way the cookie crumbles.

image

Not this time!

Woot woot Mother Nature! You knocked one right out of the park, Sweetheart!

image

image

image

image

image

Thanks for letting us all see what a baby snapper looks like and for letting us see this babe, make it to the river safely.

My job for the day was done...except for the clapping and cheering.

Celebrate the small things in life...because it’s life!

I welcome your comments and I invite you to follow me on my journey...we will be saving turtles along the way. ;)

image

~ Rebecca

Sort:  

What an amazing story! - poor little things.

@kiwideb is away in sunny Samoa escaping the bloody horrible nz winter weather, and I am hoovering down some primo bud on my vape.

in samoa they have giant turtles and go swimming with them.

in wellington its too cold and wet to walk to the mailbox!

IF YOU JUST CAN'T GET ENOUGH OF @SIFT666, I'VE RECENTLY SWITCHED MY MAIN ACCOUNT ACROSS FROM @SIFT666 TO @FROT SO FOLLOW ME THERE FOR A NEW WAVE OF STEEMING!

@frot

www.frot.co.nz

Awesome, that at least you have some top shelf flower. Love the photo of swimming with the sea turtles @frot.
Say hello to @kiwideb for us...we can feel winter coming our way...Nooooo! Lol!

Awesome message, you always post such pictures with animals that I have not seen before. We have very different turtles.

You do have different turtles than what we have in our area.
I like the colour and swirl pattern on the shell.
Thanks for sharing this photo @magnata!

naaaaw that is so adorable :D
ty, u put a smile on my face... yet again :)

Good day to you @dunstuff! My vote is spent at the moment but I will come back to you by the end of the day when it’s restored some...glad I can put a smile on faces and spread some love at the same time...;)

There. That's a little better. :)

Omg how exciting and cool! I just love those little babies, and cannot believe that turtles live in Ontario LOL! Why not though right! What do they do in the winter do you know?

Epic post Rebecca, what a pleasure to find this...

Hi @lyndsaybowes!
Why yes I do...never in a million years did I think that I would become a walking resource centre for snapping turtles and painted turtles. (These are the species that live in the river that is our backyard).
Yet, here we are, thanks to Steemit. Lol!
Here's what I know...the turtles bury themselves in the mud of the river bed for the winter. Cold blooded reptiles, they are. They hibernate for the winter months and emerge again in April, once Spring is in full swing.
Damn-it! Another crazy fact about these turtles is that the females can keep turtle sperm alive (in storage, in their bodies) for up to 2 years...you know, just in case this ancient female turtle energy can't find a male to do the deed in time for them to make the climb out of the river, find gravel, dig a hole, lay the eggs, bury them and then make it back into the river...without getting killed or eaten by something else.
Nothing short of miraculous!
I've been observing these turtles for 3 years. In that time, this is the first time that I have ever seen a baby turtle hatch and make the pilgrimage back to the river. Pure luck and I was thrilled to witness, record and share it. (Worth way more to me than the $3.62 from the awards pool, I might add.)
Thanks for getting it Lyndsay, I appreciate your comments. ;)

Wow thanks so much for the detailed response Rebecca! Those female turtles have all sorts of tricks up their sleeves eh?! Intense! And they take so long to reach maturity! All so interesting.

I'm glad after waiting for 3 years you were able to see a little dude set out... D'awwww... such a blessed world we live in!

Wowo..you shared simething which I have seen only on Discovey or NGC. You are lucky enough to see the complete cycle....such an amazing thing👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for appreciating how miraculous this really is...
I've been watching and recording this turtle behaviour for 3 years.
This is the first time that I have observed any baby turtles actually hatching and it was soooo cool and very rewarding to see this little one dive into the river...
We (at least) could aid and protect the baby until it was in the water...and with no fear, it dove right in.
It knew exactly what to do after being only a few hours old. Amazing!

That is the nature gift .....they know where they need to go...may be following on the mother footsteps😉...she might left smell behind for them to follow.....
Realy witnessing such natural phenomenon is rewarding experience.👌

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent review and beautiful photos, my friend and you are right, nature has taught these cub turtle to survive in any conditions, the process of their birth and further entry into life, a very interesting thing! Thanks Rebecca

I'm so glad that you were able to share in this miracle with me @serkagan! It was amazing to witness. ;)

Beautiful time enjoyed,nice animels and nature
thanks @rebeccaryan

That's an awesome WalkwithMe! Really well documented with great snaps! Dam im on my mum's account forgot to log out #again !

Moving Man is that you?!? LOL!!!
Thanks for taking a look and a read.
Will come and visit your page once my vote is restored somewhat...blew my entire load early this morning.
No nice way to say that..hahaha!

Hhaahahahahahah yeh it (was) me! I have to organise my mums steemit account sometimes like now :P Then I forget that i'm still logged in hahaahahha got engrossed in the post hahahaha :)

Wow. Very Interesting information. And some very nice pictures. Turtle power!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63643.10
ETH 2582.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75