The Autobiography Of A Rupee(2)

in #esteem6 years ago

I soon found we were a mixed company. I took no notice of the greasy copper coins, as I knew they were of very low caste; and I was condescending to the small change, knowing that I was twice as valuable as the best of them, the fifty-paisa pieces, and a hundred times better than the cheeky little paisa. But I found a number of rupees of my own rank, but none so new and bright as I was. Most were old coins, and dull and worn as I am today.
Some of them were jealous of my smart appearance, and made nasty remarks; but one very old rupee was kind to me and gave me good advice. He told me I must respect old rupees and always keep the small change in their place advice which he summed up with the remark, ''A rupee is always a rupee, however old and worn. "
Our conversation was interrupted by the opening of the drawer and I was given in change to a young lady, who put me in her purse. But the purse had a hole, and I fell out as she walked along the street, and rolled into the gutter, where I was lost a long time. Eventually a very dirty and ragged boy picked me up and for some time after that I was in very low company, passing between poor people and small shopkeepers in dirty little streets. But at last I got into good society, and most of my time I have been in the pockets and purses of the rich.

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by zawhtet from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58404.34
ETH 2367.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45