The Softer Light of Middle Age (Original Poem + Video Reading)

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)


elegance.png
The Softer Light

Being 45 is like 4:30 in the afternoon
it's not late, but it's not early, either
You had a fine start, a lot was achieved
but, now, a wave of drowsiness descends

Certainly, you're not ready to call it a day—
time to look up and take a little break
Cut up a fruit, maybe, some nuts for your heart
while you sip from a cup of mint tea and honey

A sigh escapes as you reflect upon
what to do with the remains of your hours
You might decide to forego that nap
keep awake a little longer, go for a walk

Good idea to clear your head, while taking
in the splendor of the setting sun, soon
You can raise the blinds, before you head out
the softer light won't harm your furniture.

© Yahia Lababidi

Sort:  

I like your poem! I can see how 45 could be like that. Don't call it a day yet. Don't go gentle into that good night. 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm still here, my friend. Losing a little steam, but ever curious & hopeful...

Thanks, for listening _/|\_

You had a fine start, alot was achieved... Simply amazing. The creativity i was looking for is here in your post. Thanks for sharing such an awesome post.

Thank you, for your attention and encouragement. I hope this might inspire your own reflections _/|\_

👌👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Cheers! I hope my words continue to keep you good company & wish you success with your fine art.

angel.jpg

Thank you so much dear @yahialababidi ;)

Posted using Partiko Android

Nice to get more than a one word response or an emoji ;) Like you, 'I appreciate when people leave me a comment and tell me what is their opinion about my art! It makes me happy to see their comments...' :)

My english isn't good enough to leave a complete comment :( sorry for my short comment dear friend.. when I see a great post I try to leave a comment although a short one :) <3

Posted using Partiko Android

I see... I'm just saying that we should do what we ask of others :) Thank you, for your explanation _/|\_

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 58248.35
ETH 3136.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36