My "Coming to America" Story—the Egyptian Version :)

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

d n i.png

leaf flourish.png

I thought I was immune to culture shock. Attending American schools, K-12 (albeit in Kuwait and Egypt) meant I was familiar with the lingo. Even though I spoke some Arabic at home, I never formally studied it at school, which translated into reading, writing, and dreaming, in English. What’s more, I had gone to college in the United States - so I didn't really expect much of an adjustment period when, around ten years ago, I made the US my home.

But, my college years in (in Washington, DC) were a kind of reactionary blur, where I’d spent most of the time with my nose buried in a book, experimenting with things like philosophy and silent fasts instead of taking in the New World around me. Seasons came and passed without my noticing, and I would go back home anyway at the end of each semester. So, when I decided to move stateside I was, for all practical purposes, living in America for the first time - the same way they say that you never know someone till you live with them.

Thus, in spite of all my early Americanization, landing in Miami airport, in early 2006, I felt like an untitled and near penniless version of Eddie Murphy’s African prince character in the 1988 hit comedy, Coming to America. A series of cultural confusions during my first year of disorientation, featuring my then-college-crush and soon-to-become wife, convinced me I was still “off the boat” and that Project Integration was very much underway.

Eddie.png

Sure, America had changed, and I had too, since those college years (this was the tail end of the Bush Years, and pre-financial crisis) but somehow I had not wrapped my mind around the basics last time I was here: like the credit system. So, when @dianarpo Diana(my spouse-to-be) disclosed to me the amount of her mortgage ($115K) I was genuinely scandalized.

After I candidly told her I thought such debt was criminal and she should do time for it, I gave her another piece of my overwhelmed mind. “In Egypt, we have a saying” I volunteered: 'extend your legs to the extent of your blanket.' Meaning if your blanket/means are limited, no need to stretch/splurge.” She heard me out, patiently, and brushed the whole thing off, assuring me I was over-reacting.

As a fledgling poet, I used to send out countless packets of my work to magazines across the country, like quivering arrows, in hopes a lucky few might hit their target. One day, Diana brought back an envelope to me. “You need to include the state and zipcode,” she said. “I did,” I replied. “No, you didn’t,” she continued matter-of-factly, “you just wrote Portland.” “Oh no,” I shot back, rather smugly. “I read that one very closely, my dear. It clearly stated either Portland or the zipcode; and the ‘or’ was even written in caps!” Very slowly, as though addressing a small (dim-witted) child, she let me know that OR stood for Oregon.

Meantime, I was looking for work and without much success, when I came across what seemed like a plum position. I could hardly contain my excitement. “Dianaaa,” I nearly hyper-ventilated into the phone “come over, this instant, and check out this job!” She tumbled into the room, also breathless, like a happy puppy. “Where, where, let me see…”

“You’re going to need to sit down for this,” I warned, presenting her with the job description. As she scanned the form, I volunteered: “I know, I know, it’s a military job… But, I’m willing to swallow my principles [I’m a die-hard pacifist ] for a salary like that… I'll just sell my soul to the devil for a short period, in order to buy my long-term freedom.”

“What are you talking about?” she ventured, cautiously. “Keep reading, please.” I bounded across the room and pounced on the page, forefinger landing on the key paragraph: “There!” I exclaimed. “401K,” I mouthed it like a miracle. “Can you imagine, for an editorial job? I’ll do it for a couple years, then quit! Plus, they can keep that extra one thousand dollars…” She gave me a look - half incredulous, half pitying - then burst into a fit of uncontrollable laughter.

© Yahia Lababidi

*I was soon to learn, a 401(k) is a standard type of retirement savings account in the United States, and has absolutely nothing to do with my fantasies of fortune and early retirement.

BbXl4QfCQAEvfIJ.jpg

thick line.png

(Image 1: personal collection, 2, 3)

Sort:  

Your post has been selected as #adsactlyspostoftheday :)

Join us in our Discord channel here to drop your post in our post promotion page, and make sure to use the @adsactly tag in the post itself.

Adsactly Banner New.jpg

That is excellent news, @bigtom13! I hope it brings smiles to many people over the weekend :) Thank you, @adsactly for your support _/|\_

That is excellent news, @bigtom13! I hope it brings smiles to many people over the weekend :) Thank you, @adsactly for your support _/|\_

Very funny story. I remember reading something the 401k in a course i offered last semester--pension.
For someone who has lived in Nigeria most of life, it's always awkward talking to people overseas. You get questions like: 'oh so you guys have internet' 'i thought yall live in mud houses' this just goes to show how different our perspection about our different worlds and how difficult it might be to intergrate. But thanks to social media we learn things and new cultures and perspectives.
I hope to visit some other countries some day, probably i would have some of the awkard and lifechanging realizations like you did.
I enjoyed reading your post. It made me laugh.

Thanks, for your kind comment, I'm happy to make you laugh. Some folks think Egyptians live in pyramids and go to work on camels, sigh, so I hear ya bout the mud huts...

Mercifully, as you say, social media is collapsing distances and better educating people. The more we interact with Others, the broader our horizons!

Have a good weekend, and I hope you get to travel to where you want, in the future _/|\_

Haha ... very funny. Dianna sounds like a women of great patience and kind spirit. And I love your enthusiasm:):):) Portland Or zipcode. LOL:)

Oh, yeah, she’s a real trooper & knows her dodo bird 🤪
Appalled/embarrassed to confess such thing but, if it amuses others, it’s worth it!

Very amusing and sorry about spelling her name incorrectly. I am having keyboard issues:)

No worries, at all, I didn’t notice it! Besides, it took D around 9 months to get my name right 😜

The American Dream! Would really like to know the rest of the story, so I will be waiting for part 2 :)
Cant believe a camel sitting in the snow. Is that real!

Haha... Yes, camel is real and, somehow, I identified with it, coming to America & feeling out of place. Picture is from a rare snowfall that blanketed Cairo, six years ago!

Actually, my intention is to post a kind of part 2 to this post--in verse and more serious, later today-- about how I feel 12 years later, living in the US :)

Ah yes I remembered that! Everybody was shocked to see that in the news :)
OK will be checking the other part.

Haha, yes, I was sorry that I missed it; it looked surreal! I believe camel picture was taken in St. Catherine. Hope you enjoy part II :)

Lol! Doesn't it suck when you find the price tag for your principles then discover you don't have a buyer? Welcome to America, a bit belated! Always good to have more funny people around!

Haha, you're funny! This is a good line:

Doesn't it suck when you find the price tag for your principles then discover you don't have a buyer?

And, it's not too late to welcome me. Been living in US for 12 years & still feel like I've landed on a new planet :)

Hey, I was born and raised here and feel like I landed on a new planet these days too, so, you are doing just fine!

Good point, and you're not alone!

Ahahahahaha. What a great story, and incredibly well told. Thank you for it.

Glad I tickled ya, Tom :) Thanks, for stopping by & hope you're enjoying your weekend.

Adapting with a new culture is not much easy... U have to face a lot of unfamiliar norms and have to learn them in person.. U r a lucky man that u had such a patient lady by ur side..! :)

I think ur life wouldnt be the same if she wasnt there with u..! God bless u both.. :)

~ Christina

Oh, I know my life would not be the same without her & count my lucky stars for my countless blessings :) Thanks, for your kind support, my friend _/|\_

Hahahaha that was really funny. I may not be familiar with some places and terms but I can really relate to the situations of finding and waiting for a job. HHahahahah

Well, as you can see, I'm not exactly familiar with all the places or terms, either :D Glad you found this entertaining & thank you, for your support. (If you're interested, btw, I just posted a darker companion piece to these reflections--after living 12 years in USA).


Glad to read about this, and that funny job/salary incident. At least someone stopped you before it's too late lol
حصلت على تصويت من
@arabsteem curation trail !
و تم اختيار مقالتك ضمن مقالات يومية مختارة للنشر في مقالنا اليومي
يمكنك الحصول على تصويت اضافي عبر ارسال مبلغ اقله
0.05
ستيم او اسبيدي الى حساب التصويت الالي
@arabpromo
مع رابط المقال في حقل المذكرة (memo)
مما يتيح لك الحصول على تصويت مربح بحوالي 2.5 اضعاف :)

Haha.. Can you imagine if they had not stopped me and I'd, actually, shown up to a job interview with my ridiculous expectations :P

Bahaha this is hilarious, some good stories about coming from a different culture, maybe I should move one of these years to a new country, or at least visit more!

Yup, that's where all the good stories are--when we leave our cozy corner and set out to discover The Wide World Out There... humbling, soul-expanding stuff.

Yes, if you can, I highly recommend you try to do more of it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64448.82
ETH 2646.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77