A Highlight From the National Book Festival in Washington, DC

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

image

Whenever I can, I try to make the annual literary pilgrimage to attend the National Book Festival in DC. In the past, I’ve tried to bring along my nieces & nephews, in an effort to foster their love of reading & have even introduced them to authors (one of whom became a pen pal to my 7 year old niece).

Mostly, I attend readings by poets, nonfiction writers, literary critics, or cultural figures I admire. A highlight from the DC Book Festival was hearing American poet, Jane Hirshfield, recite these stirring words from a poem of hers, For What Binds Us

And see how the flesh grows back
across a wound, with a great vehemence,
more strong
than the simple, untested surface before.
There's a name for it on horses,
when it comes back darker and raised: proud flesh,

as all flesh,
is proud of its wounds, wears them
as honors given out after battle,
small triumphs pinned to the chest—

And when two people have loved each other
see how it is like a
scar between their bodies,
stronger, darker, and proud;
how the black cord makes of them a single fabric
that nothing can tear or mend.

For the full poem, please, see


image


Before reading the poem from memory, Jane spoke of the very interesting, special life of this piece and how, for example, during her trip to Syria, her poem was printed on flyers and handed out as a kind of peace offering (I see why).

For those of you who might be interested in further reading from this fine poet, I recommend The Enlightened Heart, an anthology of spiritual poetry, edited by the great Stephen Mitchell, and featuring (fairly obscure) Eastern mysticism translated by Jane.


image


Image of Horse, by Kent Burgess

Sort:  

With an advent of technology this trend to attend Book Festivals is decreasing day by day. But you always try to bring those trends or things which are classy and literary that is why I love the every bit of your choices.
One again a wonderful literary blog by poet Yahia <3

Thanks, for passing by, Salman, and for your kind words. In my experience, the more technology there is, the more we hunger for human contact — from customer service to cultural events.

Cheers ‘_/|_’

Lovely poem! I really loved your words "The more technology there is, the more we hunger for human contact." Although I dive deeply into technology and strive to see the next evolution, I find it quite disturbing how people circled about its surface. I hope we don't lose our hunger someday :D

Glad you enjoyed poetry. As long as we’re made of flesh and blood, we will not lose our hunger for human contact :)

I am glad people still love reading books. My friends and I are making a small project about giving out our favorite books to strangers or to close friends. Good books can build good people.

I’m a writer; books made me who I am, today. Best of luck with your project, sounds like a good one :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Yahia from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Wao very wonderful festival,Peoples likes to reading the books,Everyone gained knowleage to the books,Many historic books in this liberary.My hobby is reading the books,I read your poem such a very impressive poem.very wonderful poem,thanks for sharing.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 61840.18
ETH 2589.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55