Ulog 12/23/18 Sunday. Two days until Christmas

in #esteem6 years ago

image

Years ago just after I was medically discharged. I was not in that good of a place.
A friend of mine who was a Vietnam Vet came to me and told me that we were going away for a week at his expense. Yea its weird and that is what I thought.
Come to find out he had a friend who owned a sailboat and the plan was to barrow his sailboat and go sailing. We spent the week sailing. We sailed into Baltimore harbor, along the east coast and of course the Chesapeake.

It was an eye opening experience. It checked all the boxes that I needed for recovery. The only thing I had to deal with was Mother Nature. And she was being cooperative. Enough wind to keep the sails full. Sailing has a quiet about it. A calmness that creeps into your being. You go at the mercy of the wind. No rush or purpose for that mater.

To this day my friend never speaks of Vietnam but when he returned to the States he was taken sailing. The very same thing that he just did for me. That was the start of my sailing experience.

I have been thinking about this for the past 6 months. It has been weighing heavy on me. I have a couple of challenges to overcome. Then I will see if I can come up with a plan to make that happen.

Our Christmas celebration starts tomorrow with family and food. It will be a long night tomorrow night tracking Santa as he travels to deliver joy throughout the world.

**I wish you and your families a Merry Christmas **

Wolfhart

Sort:  

Thank you for the warm wishes I hope you have a great day tomorrow. That is a interesting story I am sure being out on the open water is a lot different than land.

Have a happy celebration with your family @wolfhart, i hope that you will go sailing again someday soon when your chemos things has shown the good results and your dream will come true.

Merry christmas and happy holidays

Merry Christmas to you. A big hug to you and your better half from me. I wish you a prosperous new year.

Maybe this year, you must be careful sir @wolfhart. Because sea condition not save for sailing and other activities. My country sad now beacuse Tsunami comes again. Have a nice day sir.

Posted using Partiko Android

I heard that 220 people lost their lives. So sad . They had no warning

This tsunami is rare, because Tsunami are usually preceded by earthquakes. This is what causes them not to know that a tsunami will occur.
This picture maybe can explain.

Posted using Partiko Android

The area should have been put on alert.
There is a volcano erupting with earthquakes there
We knew it here

Dear wolf dreams do come true, so maybe daling away is the thing for 2019 ! Our celebration starts tonight I wish you the best and lovely family celebrations . Thank you for yours 😉

Merry Christmas to you and family. My your celebration be filled with joy and happiness.
Thank you my freind

Sometimes all that is needed to heal is some time away from other humans. Ahahah 😂😂😂

Merry Christmas to you as well. Wish you get well soon! 😊

Time to reflect without any outside influence. And without any pressure

@wolfhart, Hope that soon you will going to enjoy sailing. And wish that you will going to have an blessed festive time. Stay blessed. 🙂

This comment was made from https://ulogs.org

Merry Christmas to you

I hope so too ;)

Thank you so much and have a great time ahead. 🙂

Congratulations @wolfhart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Christmas Challenge - Send a gift to to your friends

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @wolfhart!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.620 which ranks you at #5623 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 5638).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 205 contributions, your post is ranked at #48.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 60172.85
ETH 2384.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57