DEATH DANGER AND A NEW HANDMADE CUPBOARD

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

I was in death danger some days ago...

It's hard to believe how unexpected our life can be.

I just was washing dishes in the kitchen. My baby was standing nearby.
Our sink is just under the big cupboard. It was hanging there for many years, and it was never broken or damaged, it was very strong and reliable.

I was washing, washing.. and then I made one step back to put clean plates on the table. Just ONE STEP!

and SUDDENLY this huge cupboard felt!! Exactly on that very place where I was standing a second ago!!

a loud rumbling, a shock, my heart froze with surprise and fear...

at first I did not understand what happened, then I immediately checked to see if the baby was alright, and only then I realized that it was this one step back that saved me...

I was in deep shock for a long time... Just one step!
Divine Power has saved me, I can't stop thanking my angels for their care...

We checked fastening of the cupboard. They were fine! not rotten, not flaky, why did it fall? A mystery.

But of course I didn't want to see this cupboard again, and we decided to have a new one.

A new cupboard costs 150$, and it's NOT solid wood, just a chipboards!

Rather much I think, so our choice was -** A HANDMADE CUPBOARD**.

We bought the same chipboards and all necessary fittings and started our creative process;)

At first we assembled the frame of the future cupboard using many clamps

d6miw3wskb.jpg

It's important to make it right and at right angles

44802e870i.jpg

Making holes for fittings

zu9mwdd6sn.jpg

installation of loops

1ls50ioh2l.jpg

ojkxb4r8vc.jpg

ria0qagoxg.jpg

installation of doors

l7qkomm0l8.jpg

fwhwv23nko.jpg

Installation of the shelf - the final step: again clamps and fittings

ps598jcbex.jpg

and IT'S READY!!!

5dzer7davu.jpg

And it cost only 60$ for us! Not 150$ as if we bought it in the shop.
Btw, in the shop they're just the same!

I think it's a great way to save money and make something handmade for your house, because such DIY things add the atmosphere of comfort and warmth.
And of course, some pride of yourself;)))

Do you like it, friends??
How much do such cupboards cost in your places?
It seems to me we've crazy prices.

Sort:  

Wow! Glad that you are okay and still with us today!

Oh, thank you SO MUCH for you care, Linda!
Yeah, thanks God it was just shock for me..
Life is full of surprises, but it's better if we have only pleasant ones..;)

Beautiful work! You should be very proud of yourselves!! The creator is watching you, talia:)

You are talented, that's for sure! That is not an easy thing to do, building your own cabinet. It really looks nice too. Great job.

thank you for sweet words!;)

Looks pretty sharp. Not only do you get the satisfaction of making it yourself, it will be better made, with better materials; it also adds to your experience for every tool used and process taken which will last a lifetime.

oh, yes, right you're.
when we make smth for ourself we make it more careful, more reliable, just better in all senses
it needs more time and efforts than just to go and to buy smth in a shop, but it gives more benefits in the end

You surprise me with the things you can do. Bricolage girl
What else do you know to do?
Greetings.

;) thank you!
you can look through my blog, there're some more handmade things there (for example, a chandellier;)

I did that and I saw the nice things you've done. Do you like doing things for your house?

Looks great - nice job!

I think it must be your will to live and to live happily and healthily, which got reflected in that one step that saved your ass ;). Nice work on the cupboard! I also really love DIY, saving money, feeling proud and enjoying your own creation for many years to come. Have fun with it!

haha, yes I do want it;))
thank you!

Oh ghosh that was a very close miss. Thank god you and your baby both are safe. Do tale care dear

I just found this post because it was curated on the Meadows & Makers podcast by @makinstuff and @jackdub.

Did you ever figure out why the old cupboard failed? I've heard that people often underestimate the weight of a full cupboard and don't use enough screws to attach it to the wall. A French Cleat is the best way to do it, if you can.

I'm in the process of remodeling my daughter's bathroom. When it comes time to build the vanity cabinet I will come back to your post and compare notes.

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81