Bass in this place AND that place too, DOUBLE HEADER Part 1 of 3 featuring: Fun Steel Drum Music for high schoolers before heading to the island of Sunset beach bums drunk on tacos.

in #esteem7 years ago (edited)

As I make my way to my first of two performances for the day, I ignore the smog, forget about the mountains and shift gears to practice a thought of gratitude for light traffic conditions and consistently pleasant temperatures. My equipment is all loaded and I am on schedule to arrive one hour and a half before the start to set up.

The GIF below features four swirling thumbnails of the two Periscope broadcasts I'll talk about in just a moment.

gif_1518420232


Musician Tip:

  • Leave three hours before the start of your performance.
  • Arrive at least one hour early to start setting up your equipment.
  • Expect traffic and or unpredictable venue parking.

Brea Olinda Wildcats with Steel Parade and Teterahedroseph steel drum music

"Double Header" Day Starts:

Before performing, I went live while we were getting ready. We are standing near Sandy Bus and I start to wonder if we'll even be able to broadcast from this far off hill destination. Sometimes I make a bunch of plans to broadcast and then discover we don't have good cellular signal.

Tetrahedroseph was live Periscope @steemseph 1

To hear our pre-performance banter or to see the upside-down steel drum from my previous post, look for the short broadcast labeled "Tetrahedroseph was live". It looks like the GIF above. Or view it on periscope by clicking here: https://www.pscp.tv/w/bU-o2zFtTUtQdldZa3lnRUd8MWt2S3BXUGVXZFB4Rbfdf8rySGeVOtx5IVpY2t3Q3DF1y8TLIr9Znb9gsBYL

Can you tell I like making GIFs?

I'll make one for you if you want.

Brea Olinda International Week Steel Parade steel drum band steemit

Annual Celebration!

Brea Olinda students celebrate a yearly event called "International Week." We have performed here several years in a row now. Each day of their school week features a cultural theme that includes entertainment during their longest midday break. We are considered their "cultural" entrainment.

We play a mixture of dancable island music that the students actually like. We also play loud, fast and hard. They like that too. The students bring lots of health energy and we help them help us let it all out with fun music. The main broadcast from this venue is more like a concert. No Breaks!!!

To see our full fast a furious concert for Brea Olinda's Wildcats on Periscope, click here: https://www.pscp.tv/w/bU_3rjFtTUtQdldZa3lnRUd8MWVhS2JwZHp2RFlKWDSxJsriv_T38Jr5D9lMrfCBNHgWSINO4DgpA1PoxcHq

In the past we've met some students that were in a band together. They came up and rocked-out a Green Day song with our instruments. Yes, we let them play our instruments. It's healthy and @steelparade encourages it. Service and education is healthy.


Upside-down Steel Drum:

gif_1519003673

I like to feature the steel drum upside-down in my posts. I've been taking pictures of upside-down steel drum for a long time. I don't know of anyone else that does it. I have a huge collection, some unseen from a time before Steemit existed.

img_3598-1

This steel drum belongs to our Steem neighbor @steelparade. Look for him on FaceBook and contact him to hire our fun band. You won't regret it. Drop my name too.

img_3597-1

Did you see my watermaks? Yucky, right? Got a suggestion? I'm open.

img_3596-2

Still Not Enough To Upvote?

A video too!

Ok, I get it, no whales in sight, you want more. I'm hungry too, I get it. Okay... I've got more...

I also made a video for this post. It should be on DTube, but I can't figure out how to sign in. I've suspected user error, but then, I was able to sign into Zappl and DSound without issue. Anyway, my video features a audio/video that comes from @steelparade allowing the students to hold his camera during our performance. It also has a drum solo intro to our new songs called "Little Witchy."

I dare you to watch this video!

AND

Bonus and FLASHBACK: A video our buddy @steelparade created from one of our previous visit to Brea Olinda High school:

https://youtu.be/fDPtZMvNVJE


It's been great. Thanks for reading and I hope you enjoyed the video and GIFs. Let me know if you have any questions. I like authentic comments.


NEXT: Bass in this place AND that place too, DOUBLE HEADER Part 2 of 3 featuring: a second Taco drunk performance for Taco Surf's taco eating drunks.

quoteboldThis post was finalized with esteem. It was not easy!!! Lol!!! Every time I pressed a letter on my keyboard, the keyboard would drop away. Hey @esteem when y'all are ready for some QA testing look me up. You won't be sorry, especially if we can agree upon a fair compensation.

Oh look, I tried to use the bold and quote functions up there. Oops!!! Hey, ever tried to scroll to bottom of a long post. Don't bother, the entire screen moves with your finger.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63330.55
ETH 2645.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82