Another bowl of fresh food from my backyard.

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

I LOVE eating what I grow.

I started gardening this year - and I made a ton of mistakes.

I planted things next to the wrong companion plants, I over watered my standing garden. The squirrels dug up my carrots, ate and burred my tomatoes.

I planted plants with low yield - like broccoli and cauliflower that have given me a little, while others plants gave me a TON of food. I planted carrots way, WAY to close.... So much learned, and poised for improvement next year.

Either way - I love eating from what managed to live, despite my best efforts. Here is what I took last night. I was going to wrap it all in foil and grill with some butter, but the blasted storm came early and delayed until tonight. What you don't see were the fresh carrots that my son and I ate raw before I took a photo- 10x better than any store bought.

image


Beans - they just never stop producing - for months now those 4-5 plants have given me so much. I have cut the broccoli a few times already, and this is my first haul of cauliflower.

Next year I am upping my beans and sugar peas for sure. I am also going to plant the same amount of carrots, this time with the correct spacing!!

Grow On - Stack on!!





Consider signing up for @dustsweeper to avoid losing upvotes to dust. (Currently capped at two dustsweeper votes per day)!

SttemSilverGold.jpg

image (1).jpg
(^^ made by Willsparks88)!

Sort:  

Grow on, Stack On 😄
This is what we get after RCS closes?.....

Love it. 😍 Veggies are looking good.

Shit replied to my post not your comment 😐😐

Well - got to do something now that I got nothing left to unbox. The last oz I have I am still researching!! I hope to do a lot more around my house to make it give me a return vs taking all my money.

Plus, grow you own food and put the profits into silver?

Well - got to do something now that I got nothing left to unbox. The last oz I have I am still researching!! I hope to do a lot more around my house to make it give me a return vs taking all my money.

Plus, grow you own food and put the profits into silver?

Hell yas! Remember what works and plant more of it next year!

Yep I grew some herbs but I never used them so maybe I only grow one next year force myself to try it

Bro that's awesome! I think most herbs are perennial, aren't they? They'll be back next year even better!

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Well done. It's a great feeling to grow your own food.


Congratulations! Your post has been recommended by @nateonsteemit to be the Global Homestead Collective's promoted post of the day. We invite you to use our tag #ghsc! Come join us on discord! https://steemit.com/ghsc/@ghscollective/today-s-promoted-post-senstless-and-forestfriendly

Congratulations @senstless! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62690.68
ETH 2463.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62