Does the eSteem autovote hurt curators and authors?

in #esteem7 years ago (edited)

Its sort of a neat perk of the eSteem mobile app that upon submitting a post (not this one... seems like it would be a conflict of interest) a decent stack of autovotes come in. A couple are from the app developers themselves, bots programmed to reward users of the app, but then along with them come a flood of automated follow-votes.


Image source

The concern I find in this isn't the nice $0.35-0.45 pump on my mobile posted stories (frankly that's nice at this early stage where so many of my posts get very close to $0.00) but that it may be keeping away organic votes from actual curators who have much more to offer, as well as driving away those minnows who could use the curation awards a vote would offer them.

As I discussed [earlier], the first 5 voters share most of the curation rewards, and the top 10 are really the only ones who get anything but dust unless the post gets up to the thousands of dollars area. So when the first 13 are from the eSteem bots and the bots that follow them what does that do for the real life curators who come along? And it's not like it's benefiting them; voting that early means that 99% of the curation award just comes back to me. But I don't want it... I want my curators to come and enjoy it.

I think the developers' hearts were in the right place with it, for sure, but I just don't think it's working out how they anticipated.

Sort:  

I dont think the autovote feature hurts anyone on steem , as most of the users with significant SP power tend to vote themselves anyway to ensure a reward and increase the visibility of their posts

Alright, you didn't listen. You continued to create multiple accounts after sever warnings.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by just-kill-minnow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

That's an interesting point, for sure. But lets avoid whales, as really they're as you say, and consider dolphins/etc. The more middle of the road voters, just swimming out of the minnow pond and still carrying some of the minnow habits of voting for posts they like, when they like them. Does a post already having 10+ votes deter them?

Congratulations @secondstar! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@secondstar
I am with you. I don't like autovote. At least not for me. I want to chose my own upvoting. If others think differently. That is OK. Everyone has to decide.
I already have.
Thank you for bringing up this subject. It will be discussed for a long time yet.

Francis

This is some nice thoughts. Steemit retention rate is not very high for the time being as many gets discouraged when their posts are almost $0.

In these early stages of the platform, I believe they are necessary for the growth. With time there may be rules that will be accepted by the community on the use of auto votes and bots.

Edit: this made me realise that I should start considering upvoting my own post. Thanks for the knowledge :)

I think one of the most discouraging things is how little content aside from crypto, steemit (clearly I'm part of that problem), and weird nutty prepper/conspiracy stuff there is.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57326.97
ETH 2428.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32