A Dash of Tao

in #esteem6 years ago

I don’t imagine this will be a popular topic. Anybody interest in the ‘Tao’? I am still learning, still trying to understand, to make sense of what it all means.

vizzwgjeue.jpg

Source

Tao or Dao: 道 is a Chinese word meaning 'way', 'path', 'route'... In Japanese pronounced "Do" - the symbol associated with traditional arts like judo, kendo, kyudo, chado (the way of tea)... "Tao signifies the primordial essence or fundamental true nature of the Universe (and ourselves). Tao is not a 'name' for a 'thing' but the underlying natural order... It is thus "eternally nameless” and to be distinguished from the countless 'named' things (visible forms and structures) which are considered to be its manifestations."
Source

What is Tao?
Noun: (in Chinese philosophy) the absolute principle underlying the universe, combining within itself the principles of yin and yang and signifying the way, or code of behaviour, that is in harmony with the natural order. The interpretations of Tao in the Tao-te-Ching developed into the philosophical religion of Taoism. - Oxford Dictionaries

When you live in complete acceptance of what is, that is the end of all drama in your life. - Eckhart Tolle

The ‘You’ who you think you are does not exist. - Alan Watts

If we could see the miracle of a single flower clearly, our whole life would change. - Buddha

It is easy to believe we are each waves and forget we are also the ocean. - John J Muth

Those who are awake live in a state of constant amazement. - Buddha

We carry inside us the wonders we seek outside us. - Rumi

We have only now, only this single eternal moment opening and unfolding before us, day and night. - Jack Kornfield

Getting in touch with your true self must be your first priority. - Tom Hopkins

Thank you for stopping by. If you like the post, please give it a vote. Resteem it if you think it worthy. Follow @quotes-haven if you like humour, quotes and reading about Life.
Cheers!

Previous post: -

Steemitcentral Lyrics challenge 40/60 – Yesterday

0mhkwoioii.png

Sort:  

I don't like that you don't like dpoll.xyz. You could get great upVotes,and it takes nothing...from you

Posted using Partiko Android

haha... It's not that I don't like dpoll.xyz. I don't know how it works, and I haven't looked at it closely. I am not the most tech savvy, nor anything savvy. As they say, i am not the sharpest knife, in some areas. lol

You are more savvy then you wanna show....to tender a flower is a million times harder..

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your vote of confidence. It meant a lot to me. Sometimes, it's the Self that needs to be convinced.

I kinda figured a while ago that you are a good person,plus I'm a big fan of Quotes... because they are so simple..you don't need to write 5 pages ,that most won't read...just make them think!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for your kind words. I strive to be a decent human being.
I agree with what you said about quotes. They are clear and simple, and they expresses very well, in a few words, what we can't express in pages of writing.

Thank you for your continued support. It is much appreciated.

uh huh...not savvy at all..right...only one of very few who saw that the bank robbery in Argentina was a frame up job!

I first came into contact with Taoism when I was younger, reading the Tao Te Ching. It made a great deal more sense to me than anything else at the time. Now, I practice Chinese Martial arts and Chi Gong so maybe it was fate. I am not always the peaceful ideal talked about by the great sages but I do my best to act skillfully and conserve as much energy as I can (wei wu). It is a practical and rewarding philosophy to engage with and I hope you continue your studies.

Hello @mizuichi. Thank you for stopping by. For me it was Buddhism that I first came into contact with. And like you, I find that it made a lot of sense. From then on, I embraced Buddhism as a philosophy, as a Way of Life. Taoism came in a bit later.

We can never be the peaceful ideal talked about by the great sages. Maybe I shouldn't say that. But what I mean is that we are human beings after all. We have our emotions, our temperament, our frustrations in life. What we can do is to not give up, and to continue our practice - whether it is the Tao or Buddhism - to be mindful of the teachings of the great teachers.

May you find bliss and enlightenment on your spiritual journey.

The same to you, friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36