I Got Hacked on the ESteem App!

in #esteem5 years ago (edited)

Recently I downloaded and installed the eSteem mobile app. I was pleased with the post editor and used the app for routine visits to the Steemit community.

I stayed logged-in using either posting or active keys, such that I only had to enter the four-digit code to access the app.

Although I had made a few small posts, I suddenly started getting lots of likes and comments for a post. Some of the comments were in Korean font.

When I went to my Steemit blog, it looked normal. I never found the post to which they were referring, and unfortunately I hadn’t reaped the Steem or SP from that activity. Fortunately, I hadn’t lost any Steem or SP either.

Anyway, I deleted the eSteem app. Any suggestions or comments? Could I have been more secure? I really liked the eSteem editor.

CE004EC6-084D-44A3-B622-4EAFD0BA5B48.jpeg

source

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68147.96
ETH 3273.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66