BROKEN LOVE

in #esteem6 years ago

image

She was a beauty
The glowing pearl that sparked my life
Standing six feet, five inches tall and curved
I loved her and she loved me this dear
But she was an Ewe and I an Akan
O, this love is broken.

To us our tribe was love
I remember how her eyes watched my lips sing
I remember how she strolls her finger through my hair as I eat
I remember we were in love
Baptized and buried together in body and soul
But to them we were two distinct species altogether
To them she was Ewe and I an Akan
Our love broken!

Who will understand the pain in our hearts?
As slowly her hands slipped away from mine
Who will feel the hurt in our souls as we watched our love wither?
I love her and she loves me
But to them we knew not what love was
Because she was an Ewe and I an Akan
Our love was broken!

Papa said her kindred are vipers
He recounted in my dreams the tales of her abominable fathers
Her mama said Akans are brutal
She could tell how she will end up a pulp in my hands
Our sweet love was murdered coldly
Murdered by the sweet stereotype we joked with as kids
She loves me and I love her still dear
But our love is broken!

Papa will be happy I opt for an Akan
Her mama will be happy if she chose of her kind
Ours was love founded on love and offered for love
But this love story never came to be
Torn apart in shreds and in blood
Our love is broken!

She was beautiful as the moon
But the night came without her in it
I loved her with all my heart
But our worlds were torn apart
Tribe, tribe, tribe, o tribe
If only I could wash you off my veins
Our love is broken!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33