*He was my bosom friend.* Poem by mrblu

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)


Direct image source

Lying, thinking

Last night
How to find my soul a home
It fell to earth, I knew not where;

I waterd it in fears

Night & morning with my tears;
And I sunned it with smiles,
And with soft deceitful wiles.

For, so swiftly it flew, the sight

Could not follow it in its flight.
I came up with one thing

And I don’t believe I’m wrong
That nobody,
But nobody
Can make it out here alone.

I found the arrow, still unbroke;

And the song, from beginning to end,
I found again in the heart of a friend
my foe beheld it shine,

And he knew that it was mine

In a more distant place

I glimpsed his face,

And bowed instinctively;
Starting he bowed to me,

For he had hardships seen,

And I a wanderer been;

The old words ringin' in your ears, so sweet an', Oh, so true!
The tenderness of folks who know just what your sorrow means,

Bowed simultaneously, and passed along

Late in a wilderness
I shared his mess,

These are the things on which, somehow, your spirit always leans.

When grief is poundin' at your breast — the new friends disappear
An' to the old ones tried an' true, you turn for aid an' cheer

He was my bosom friend, and I was his.

RODFINAL (1) (1).gif

Sort:  

You got a 4.02% upvote from @upme thanks to @mrblu! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62971.67
ETH 3050.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96