Is steemit worth the time? Should you keep blogging after getting no upvote?

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

I was in eSteem telegram group some days ago and about two to three people complained of not getting upvote, this as been a common topic among most minnows in several communities I've been in, so I didn't pay so much attention, because I've been used to it.

But a particular guy pulled my attention, saying; "Steemit is not a good platform to be on, other platform will become far better than Steemit, it's trash, why would a minnow drop a quality post of 1000+ words and get 0.13$ and a whale drop just a quote of two sentences or a picture and get 1000$... Steemit does not pay you for your efforts, it pays for something else and integrity."


Source

This guy said all this with passion, he was even seconded by another guy who requested to be removed from the group by any admin, he was truly tired of Steemit.

image

image

image

image

So I gave him a reply that I thought could be a bit convincing because he was so Angry, frustrated and determined;

** Reply:** My friend you should not say that... If you've read much about Steemit you'll understand how it works...

First of all, you have to make sacrifices, and be hard working, the next thing you need to do is to be determined and believe you'll get there...
Trust me, if you can think like this on the Steem platform you'll definitely be successful no matter how long it takes...

I'm not sure you're an entrepreneur... I guess not, Please read more about it.

You cannot jump into something and expect to get what you didn't work for just so easily....

Do you wanna know about those whales?


Source

Whales! Just like their name, they are the ones with the biggest investment in the Steem Blockchain.


They can decide to help and support any minnow that pulls their attention... But it's their choice and there's nothing you can do about it except to keep up with the hard work.
Their investment was also not gotten in a day.

The legendary Rome we know about was not built in one day.

It's what they've sacrificed for, believe me or not.


In life, you can only get rich by three means;

  • Either you sacrifice and strive for it.
  • Your family has the power already (Being born in a rich family).
  • Or you're just lucky.

So is Steemit, All those whales you see, have made one sacrifice or the other before they got to where they are now, they've also probably made couple of posts as a minnow and didn't get no penny, most of them started Steemit at an early age when the rate was very low, some even invested their money in it, now they are reaping what they've sowed...


Source

  1. This whales just like minnows had friends, grew together in the platform and got to know about how it's works which you did not care to know before jumping into conclusion... They've also made many quality posts without getting up votes from no one, now they've achieved a lot and they can't possibly upvote every minnow, except the ones that struck their attention, life is a battle you have to struggle through it.

  2. The second set of whales and dolphins that exists are those who have a friend/family who is a whale already, they invite and give him support, and recommend him to other fellow whales this makes him grow fast on the platform. After achieving enough Steempower, typing a quote alone and upvoting himself is a plus for him and he can also decide to promote his posts with bots which will help boost his reputation on Steemit.

  3. The third set are those that gets lucky, this is very rare but also very possible, that's why I keep telling minnows I come across to make quality posts and maintain the integrity of their blog, you may get noticed, I have seen couple of people who gets support from whales due to quality articles and the sacrifices they've made, if a whale that does the same niche as you, notice you make very quality posts and get almost nothing, you will be shocked with the kind of support he may render...

Just be consistent and focused, it's only a matter of time.

Instead of discouraging more people, be positive and positivity will knock at your door.

I'm also a minnow remember?

Ways I think may help you get upvotes..


  1. Join communities and make enough friends, you may meet someone who knows someone and stick to the one that encourages what you write about; for instance, if you write science posts, join the #Steemstem and #stemng discord channel and get to know all about science, and how they curate, if it's really your niche, no one will earn better than you...

  2. Follow enough whales and study how they make their posts.

  3. Read and understand whales quality post, curate it for curation reward and give reasonable comments as early as you can, you may be recognized if you make it consistent.

  4. Be nice generally on Steemit, you don't know who is who.

  5. eSteem itself is a very big opportunity... Stick around here, make friends and endeavour to keep posting with the eSteem apps(Mobile/PC Surfer) you'll definitely get upvote, it may not just be everyday, but you will... Trust me.

  6. Be very contributive in any community you are, another thing is that don't just be in communities for the sake of dropping your post link, if you can maintain just four communities, that's very OK, just make sure you always make contributions in all and render as much help as you can...


Source

Make impact where ever you are, let them know someone has arrived, you'll quickly get recognized that way.

  1. You have to create time for Steem generally, if you also want to get rewarded.

Remember, heaven help those who help themselves.

It may not be immediately but believe its possible and just keep pushing... Whales also started from somewhere.

  1. Do not plagiarize! that's another way of not getting noticed or being included in blacklists, you may be noticed, but as a top plagiarizer which may tarnish your Steemit career, you don't wanna do that you don't know who is who.

  2. Have a niche, no what you want and choose a style that you're best at, so you don't get tired of it... Don't be fake be original...

  3. Don't stop engaging, don't stop asking questions, remember to always be nice. You can DM me for more help... I'm just a friend.

If you're not on eSteem discord server, spare some time to click on this you will learn more there and you're liable to get more upvotes if you drop your posts in the post promotion...

Steem on

Reply I gave to the other guy who requested to be removed from the channel.


Be wise my friend, leaving a group or community will not help you get more upvotes... All you need to do is to know how the community works and you'll get as much as you put in... Don't make a mistake like this again... Ask for the eSteem discord link... Join and see for yourself how helpful it can be... eSteem is the last place you should want to exit from... It's the second on the Steem Blockchain after Steemit itself. Don't make the times you've spent on it effortless.

Sort:  

True talk bro influence is everything in the world even in real life too

yeah, but we also need to make sacrifices and work effortlessly to attain something great , life is no joke.

thanks for stopping by...

Thank you very much @morhan for making the general public to see what is happening within the steemit community. $0.13 is a bigger amonut cos sometimes it end only with 0.01

Thats true but enough work has to be put in, that doesnt stop steemians from relenting. ... just keep pushing till you get there, i also have a lot of zero points in my blog but i still keep posting.

Thanks for stopping by anyway , you're very well appreciated.

I've been on both ends so I understand both views... Steemit is not as easy as it was preached to some of us, but interactions help alot, relationship building works too.

True talk...... Thanks for stopping by.

This post is so helpful. Thanks for the wonderful suggestions and guidance. Like you'd always tell me, be consistent

That's the key dear... Consistency..

Sir thank you very much for sharing your experience.Really this is great post.Many important things i learn from this precious post.So sir please keep it up you great content maker whose content are really good and interesting.So again thank you very much....

You're welcome... And don't relent in keep making good sophisticated posts.

Very true words... and at one point recently I have been discouraged from writing blog posts since I do not knew how to get my posts noticed even having over 630 followers and barely no upvotes and comments. But I will not give up and try something different to get my posts noticed. Thanks for these useful advice... also my 9-5 job and the fact I focus on video editing are what also takes time away from me to dedicate more on steemit... I really need a life balance... I may quit my 9-5 job before this year ends to focus on my passion... not looking for another job so I am investing on cryptos and saving money before I leave so I can sustain myself for over a year to take that year to develop my passion on Steemit, YouTube, Discord, etc.

Wow... You're my kind of person... I appreciate the fact that you really take Steemit as a great platform, though it may not be easy to get upvotes but know that the more you post the better you get known... Keep rocking..

Thanks a lot for your support and hope we can get to know each other better. You seem very open minded about this and I can learn a lot from you. Do you have a Discord? I have a Steemit Discord Server where I am building a community of people who wants to really succeed in Steemit and we can teach each other new things :) Here is the link incase you are interested: https://discord.gg/WmxRnc3

Excellent response and well said bro.

Yeah.. . Thanks man...

Great write up

You said it all there. Nice one @morahn

Thanks dear... I appreciate.

Very well written @morahn! There is no "something for nothing" in our Steem Community. Just like in "the real world" ...

It is easy to become discouraged, but you have hit all the right notes, I believe, in what we all need to consider in moving forward.

Upvoted 100%. Keep posting @morahn! 👍


P.S. If you are like me, you wonder how your posting efforts "get eyes" on them. For me, it was your post being resteemed by @jackmiller. Thought you might like to know! 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

I am about 2 months on steemit, I must confess its being really heart breaking sometimes because I thought by just posting on my blog upvotes will just be rushing in.... However, I still gathered courage to just continue . Thanks @morahn you absolutely said the truth on this platform, its just by quality posting,adding values to steemit then people will upvote. For Instance; I just started a weekly post which I call "STEEM CHARGE" its just what I love writting about and since on monday i posted it,it has given me most upvotes so far and I believe more are still coming; do find time to read,comment and resteem if it pleases you " STEEM CHARGE(Episode 1)" @kingsleymond . Once again thanks for this enlightenment because you have answered many of my anxious questions on steemit

You're very welcome... I'll definitely check out your blog and follow you... Nice..

Thanks a billion @morahn I really appreciate if you follow me and I currently following you. Best regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 63597.74
ETH 2476.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53