Stranded after hurricane florence

in #esteem6 years ago (edited)

With rivers rising to unprecedented levels we have been stranded in our area for 5 days with no way to get more food, water or fuel. All roads are flooded in every direction around us with the nearest town being 16 feet underwater, nearly a hundred people had to be airlifted to safety after the river started rising! This is the building that use to control the dam 😟

It is truly unbelievable the amount of damage this hurricane has caused. Trees are downed everywhere and many of the crushing homes or knocking down powerlines. The wind tore off shingles and roofs and the water annihilated to many homes to count.

I took this video just to give people an idea of how bad the flooding really is because pictures just don't do it justice.

We are now on day 8 of no electricity after hurricane florence unleashed her fury on North Carolina and we are told it could be another 6 days until we get it back!

FEMA flew in some "hot meals" and water for the people stranded in our area, as nice of a gesture as it was the food was way worse then anything we have including ramen and canned foods. It was so terrible looking we didn't even feed it to our dogs! It makes me upset that this is what they are giving to people after a natural disaster, many people lost their homes and now u wanna feed them this shit!?!


(Freeze dried peas and a boiled hotdogs, both cold)

Hopefully the waters will continue to recede and we can get access to more supplies today or tomorrow but in any case we are good to go with food and water. I'm just happy I was as prepared as I was. I am about to run out of fuel for the generator but I don't need that to survive, it just makes life a bit more comfortable throughout all of this.

Anyhow, I still have to drive down the street to get internet access on my phone so I am going to end this article so I can get back home and continue the cleanup of my yard. Thanks everyone for all the good wishes and nice comments, they are appreciated more than you could imagine 😊

"Peace, love and all that hippie shit"

[banner_moonbot.png(http://www.steemit.com/@moonbot)

Sort:  

FEMA, another government fiasco. Hopefully, the waters will recede soon and the power will be restored soon. It pays to be a prepper in these situations...

Fiasco is a nice way of putting it LoL.. The waters have finally receded enough to open most of the roads around me now and I got my power back a few days ago so things are starting to get back to normal. 🙂

Thanks for sharing, our thoughts go out to you. At you you prepared, imagine that most people have a few days supply of anything and are far worse off. A testimony of having to depend on the government for anything is futile. Report in when you can, the aftermath is always worse than the storm itself.

It looks like it turned out worse then than you initially thought @moderndayhippie. I'm sorry to hear that. Does nobody around you have a boat of some sort?

Did most of your neighbours evacuate?

I hope you find a way to get into town soon.

People do have boats but we are 20 miles to town and the only small portions of the roadway are covered with water, so we would have to hike 10 to 15miles on foot carrying gas cans and we would still have to swim across other roadways if we used a boat to get across just one area. Its hard to explain but basically only small portions of the roads are covered with fast moving river water so a boat wouldn't help in this situation.

The waters are finally starting to recede now so I am thinking I will be able to get to a gas station by tomorrow, ill just have to try a lot of back roads and loop all the way around to get into town.

Most of my neighbors did evacuate, but there are still a few around that stuck out the storm like us. They have been very generous sharing the last of their fuel so I am still good for the rest of the day 😁

Thanks for all of ur comments and ur concern, it is appreciated.

Its hard to explain but basically only small portions of the roads are covered with fast moving river water so a boat wouldn't help in this situation.

Ah I see. I did wonder about that @moderndayhippie when I saw your photographs.

Hopefully you will get to a garage tomorrow then and things will start getting better for you. 💙

So sorry to hear that, hope you are able to get through this soon!

Hang in there man. If I was closer to you than half a country away I'd drive some fuel and supplies down for you.

Be prepared I believe you said in a previous post, so glad you had forethought to do just that @moderndayhippie, really hope the water recedes quickly for you to pick up life once again.

That food they sent you, I don't blame you for not even feeding it to the dogs, you don't want them to be sick after the trauma of the past few days.

Surely supply of bully-beef, baked beans and biscuits would have gone further than wasteful food they sent, sorry harping on that a little, just makes no sense in what they did.

#steemitbloggers

That sounds awful, man. I remember when after a tornado my family and I had to live without electricity for a month, I felt like a cave man hahaha.

I really wish everything gets better soon!

First of all thx god u r safe and your family.
2nd this is the 1stvtime i hear your voice. Cheer up pal... u will pass this delama ...
3rd but not least i feel really sorry for the people who list their houses and yes food shiwn in picture is small cold but better than nothing.... try to see films about floods happening in bangaldesh country and people die there either by floods or by lack of food.
Resteemed

Good thing you were prepared. Those fema dogs are probably full of some scary shit, I wouldn’t want to eat anything from them. Be safe out there !

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by moderndayhippie from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34